A little piece of my poured silver

in #metalsmafia6 years ago (edited)

Hi guys

It's been awhile since my last post, and after talking with 'the Don' @Pit-Bullion he encouraged me to get back to making steemit posts. So here goes....

I thought that today I'd share with you a piece that I have poured from start to finish.

Ok so I guess I should give you a little back story to this piece. I love stacking silver and my main goal is to collect silver as a savings vehicle for my children. My youngest boy is a real silver bug he loves coins and banknotes too. So quite a few of my poured pieces end up with him. My boy also loves all things military, sharks and dinosaurs. So today I'm going to pour him a silver soldier.

image
So here is the piece I'm going to use for a mold. Its just a plain old plastic soldier that you can buy from the dollar store, but we give them a little paint job to make them look nice. So next we need to get some casting rings and some delft clay.

image

image

Now we place the soldier in the casting rings and start to pack the ring with delft clay.
image
image image
Now I remove the plastic soldier from the delft, I can't tell you how many times I've almost poured molten silver into a mould only to remember at the last moment that I'd left the casting piece still inside😐

image

Now to melt some silver, I use a Mapp torch and crucible to melt my silver, which is usually silver ferns that I buy direct from the New Zealand Mint.
image
image
image

And now for the pour...
image
Now to open the mould...
image

Looking not too bad image
The piece has some flashing but that is easily cleaned up with a file and some sandpaper.

image
image

So that's my silver soldier just got to weigh it now
image

Well I hope you enjoyed my little post on how I make silver soldiers for my son's Silver Stacking Army.
image

Take care guys and I'll talk to you later.

Kiwi💕

image

Sort:  

What a pieces of silver man

Very interesting article and a very beautiful final product. Congrats.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Very nice... You don't wanna lose that one in the dirt when playing soldiers.

No, you most certainly do not!

Very excellent Kiwi!! 👍 Fantastic job!

Thank you Vessel!

Excellent job. The skills you are honing will make you a great pouring addition to the mafia. Nice job!

Cheers stackin'

You are kicking serious butt there Ag Scots! You never cease to impress 😘

Thanks for taking a look SBS!

Awesome job Kiwi. It came out very nice. Thanks for sharing 👍

I'm happy with it! Thanks for taking a look!👍😉

Looking good!! Your son will love and treasure it!!

I hope so Mrs V. Not sure if he likes it more because it's silver or the fact that it is another soldier. 😁

Sweet soldier pour the final product is very crisp and a real beauty. I totally love the fact that you use your sons interest in order to help him gain true wealth. A fact I know that he will thank you for more as time goes on. Secondly, I love how you have developed and sharpened your skill! It seems like only yesterday that you were saying you were pouring your first bar.
Sidenote: I also like that you give the dollar store army men a little paint job to make them look even more intense!! Thanks for sharing @agscotskiwi!!

Thank you very much for your comments I appreciate you taking the time to read and comment on my post D-wings!👍😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67617.45
ETH 3777.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69