You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Metal Tree: [2nd Edition] The roots and rise of heavy metal in the UK and Australia [Metal Tree: 4] 1964 - 1978

in #metalree7 years ago

So many great bands here. The foundation of my music collection.

Black Sabbath is definitely the first heavy metal band. @dwinblood is doing a great job showing all the bands that influenced metal, but I feel the Sabs were the first ones to put it all together. They laid the template for all metal bands to come. My favorite band all time.

Zep and Purple are two of my favorites, tremendous influencers. I love everything Zeppelin. Mark II is my favorite purple lineup.

Not a glam fan either but I do enjoy Slade. Noddy Holder especially.

Judas Priest is criminally underrated. Rocka Rolla is heavily Zep influenced. Huge turn with Sad Wings of Destiny. Probably my favorite Priest album.

Brian Johnson is great but Bon Scott was the MAN! Losing him and Bonham in the same year was a huge kick in the nuts. I think Let There Be Rock is AC/DC's heaviest record. My favorite one.

No Motorhead here? Overkill, Bomber, and Ace of Spades laid the groundwork for thrash. If anybody defined the heavy metal lifestyle it was Lemmy.

Long comments, but so much to discuss with this one. Loving these new posts.

Sort:  

Overkill and Motorhead were not active yet... look at the dates. They'll be in the NWOBHM post. :) Overkill is also not UK. :)

I meant the Motorhead album Overkill, not the band. I missed the dates, that's my bad. Technically Motorhead was active but they do belong in a NWOBHM post. I got ahead of myself there.

Heh... yeah Motorhead won't be left out. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58392.35
ETH 2462.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37