You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A post for my fellow fans of Metal...

in #metal8 years ago

I didn't really ever end up going the Cannibal Corpse route. I may listen to them and see what I think now, but I was exploring a different direction when they came out. I touched on some Death, and Morbid Angel a bit in that direction but then kind of went another way. Not out of dislike, simply going where my curiosity lead me.

Sort:  

I hear you man.... honestly, I was just kidding anyway haha. It did take me quite a while to warm up to their work, considering that one of their album covers features two undead wearing operation/butcher aprons dissecting a dead woman and pulling a dead baby out of her, um, "lady parts", while in the background there are a bunch of dead baby bodies, limbs and skeletons all strung up among random innards.... yeah.... pretty shocking. Then there are the gems that are their song titles, such as "Entrails Ripped From a Virgin's Cunt", "Fucked With a Knife", "Meathook Sodomy", etc.... I'll say it again, it took me a WHILE to get into their music genuinely lol.... not bad if you like the death metal scene. Their instrumental skill was FAR ahead of the time they were in, even back with their original singer, who is the singer for Six Feet Under since he formed it after departing CC in 1995. Anyway.... Thanks for the reply man! \m/

Artistic expression can be extreme. I have to be in the right frame of mind to approach most things. That honestly was not the reason I avoided them. In fact we used to joke about some of their earlier lyrics and how intentionally extreme they were. Seems like early album has a line "Mutilated corpse fucking your cunt, maggots for a cock". Obviously intentionally extreme. Yet in death metal vocals VERY few people that ever heard them sing it would actually know that was what they said.

That wasn't why I didn't listen to them. I'd simply become curious about new paths I hadn't explored before. It was usually technical skill and virtuosity that drug me along. Metallica was unlike anyone when they came out. So for years they were my favorite. I think they started drifting away from why I liked them after Cliff Burton died. Yet the path of following virtuosity lead me to prog metal. I ended up like Dream Theater a lot because as a musician I'd watch them perform and mentally realize what the 5 of them were doing sometimes LIVE and my mouth would drop open in awe... It was watching people that no matter how much I practiced it was very likely I could never reach their technical level and even if I could on my instrument what is the likelihood of finding 4 other people at that level too. Now there music is not for everyone. I sometimes jokingly call them the musicians band... here is why...

Most of us can draw stick figures... so when someone that can draw better comes along we like their art. Those artists in turn have artists that they admire and may consider beyond their skills in some technical ability. When it comes to skill in playing their instruments DT to me is perhaps one of the most skilled bands I've ever seen as a whole. There are tons of virtuosos in other bands... but I know of no other band that has all of them being top in their field and pushing that to the limit in performances... as a musician I stand in awe of what they are pulling off. Honestly I don't know how they do some of what they do.

That said... I found them. I like prog metal a lot and they have inspired others. So I've gotten to where I am not just looking for technical anymore. I mostly get excited by new stuff. Find me someone who doesn't sound like anyone else. Those are the people that excite me. It doesn't have to be just metal either. Though I still do revert to other styles. For the past few years I've really liked Opeth quite a lot, though their last few albums are going in a direction that doesn't appeal to me that much. It is GOOD but not really my thing. The Albums Black Water Park, and Ghost Reveries though I think are pretty bad ass... lots of textures... I describe their songs like eating a 5 course member... "don't like this serving? wait a couple minutes" :) Death Metal vocals in many songs mixed with a lot of good clean folk style vocals that are the same guy. Weird melodic acoustic stuff suddenly in the middle of some raging death metal song. I find the changes in textures really appealing. I didn't notice them much at first... I had them in my collection but hadn't really gotten into them. Then one day they just clicked. The past few albums starting with Heritage they've gone in a very different direction.

Almost like they are trying to resurrect 60s and 70s psychadelic prog rock. :P

I agree. Heritage was decent for the style of music it fell into, but it just didn't sound like Opeth to me.... not the Opeth I knew. My two favorites have to be Deliverance and Ghost Reveries. When I first heard the opening track to Deliverance, "Wreath", I was absolutely hooked. Talk about an intensely progressive and melodic use of almost 12 non-stop minutes! :D Definitely one of my favorite songs by them to date. Loved Blackwater Park as well.

The guy that posted this video (not music related) just out of the blue linked this to me on a blog that had nothing to do with religion. shrug

I don't know exactly how to answer this guy seriously:
https://steemit.com/illuminati/@cryptocurrency1/vanessa-marcotte-princeton-evil-murder-rev-911-ww3-illuminati-freemason-symbolism

Watched the video.... not even sure how to respond to it. Sorry if this offends anyone, but it's guys like him that make all Christians look like religious wingnuts who profess backwards psychobabble. Trying to connect Prince's death with some occurence in Princeton? Then going on to talk about how murders taking place have to do with different forms of possession and shit? WHAT THE ACTUAL FUCK???? Yes, I believe possession is possible, given my spirituality, but that doesn't mean that all despicable actions of individuals point to possession every time. Goes back to something I've said before.... pinning your horrible choices on God or possession is just another scapegoat-inducing method of alleviating yourself of the responsibility over your actions. Not trying to be disrespectful to anyone, but if this man thinks he's making a point with all of this irrelevant ranting that he "pieced together", he is sadly mistaken. If anything, he's hurting his cause and making himself look more like an incompetent whack-job.

I really like the song Harlequin Forest... I will say I saw them perform Heritage live with one of my sons at a hall that the sound was very good in. They didn't do a single song with any growling/Death Metal style vocals but it was still very powerful stuff. Face of Melinda which is a decent song was absolutely fantastic there live. It was way better live than the studio version. Katatonia opened for them at that show.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59426.36
ETH 2654.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43