Top 10 Metal Drummers You Simply Need To Hear!

in #metal7 years ago (edited)

Here's a list of my 10 favourite drummers in metal. These guys have some serious talent and are skilled to perfection! Check 'em Out! This is just my opinion!

1 Gene Hoglan (Dark Angel, Death, Testament....)

2 Dave Lombardo (Slayer, Suicidal Tendencies)

3 Chris Adler (Lamb Of God)

4 Nicko McBrain (Iron Maiden)

5 Nils "Dominator" Fjellström (Dark Funeral) - jesus look at those fills :O!

6 Mike Portnoy (Dream Theater)

7 Tomas Haake (Meshuggah)

8 Francesco Paoli (Fleshgod Apocalypse)

9 Joey Jordison (Slipknot)

10 George Kollias (Nile)

Hope you like the list! I'll do top 10 Guitar and Bass metal players aswell in the future!

Sort:  

Not the same genre of music but check out Adam Gray, and Luke Holland. They are probably some of the best YouTube show drummers out there. Thanks for posting homie!

Know them both and they're both damn amazing! No problem mate!

I had the opportunity to meet both Dave Lombardo when he played with Slayer, and Mike Portnoy when he was with Dream Theater at the Modern Drummer Festival. Both very nice guys and phenomenal drummers.

It is disappointing the Festival is no longer held. It was a great time.

Really? That's freakin' awesome! I only met Gene Hoglan when he played with Death DTA and George Kollias when he played with Nile here in Slovenia. Both amazing aswell. Cheers and thanks for the comment and upvote!

I have been fortunate to meet many great drummers. When I met Dave Lombardo in 2000 he and his wife had just had a new baby and when he found out that I was a Nurse Practitioner all he want to talk about was the birth he showed me pics and everything. We had a great visit. I have also met Jason Bittner of Shadows Fall another great metal drummer.

The fun part for me is my husband is the drummer and I reaped the benefits of hanging out with some talented people.

You're so lucky! Glad you had fun meeting them!

OMG, where's Danny Carey from Tool?
;-)

He's in my top 20 list for sure but i don't really listen to Tool that much if i'm honest so he's not in my top 10. I put Francesco Paoli instead of him. But Carey has really been very influential to a lot of good drummers that'

Hell yeah, Thomas Haake! My fav is probably Lev Weinstein of Krallice, he has the tightest and most dynamic blast beats I've ever heard.

Great drummer and a great band!

Yeah they were so tight live too. I also saw his band Woe open for Inter Arma!

I hope to see them live one day. I am really excited to see Batushka and Mgla for the first time this summer though!

Batushka is awesome, I actually forgot about them. My friend showed me Litourgiya and I really liked it, I should listen again soon. I don't know Mgla though!

Great album

Ooh yeah, I like this. The cymbals sound incredible. Just got to the second track and this drumming is killer.

Glad you like it!

Great list! I'll had one of my most technical drummer! Yanick Bercier from Quo Vadis!

Great choice! You should also check out Hannes Grossmann from Obscura (ex) he's a beast too

I know somebody who's gonna be fucked up at work in 2 hours.... ;-)

what a list!
number 8 Fleshgod Apocalypse's drummer..... savage!

Francesco is really a savage :D Saw him live 2 times already and he's a beast

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61896.22
ETH 2413.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66