Philip and Beth's group in Albuquerque, New Mexico

in #messianic5 years ago (edited)

Philip Flowers.jpg

My name is Philip Flowers. My wife Beth and I are located in the northeast heights of Albuquerque, NM. I first came to know God when I was about 5 years old through Child Evangelism Fellowship. Through them I learned the importance of Scripture memory and daily Bible reading. Although I didn’t really have any structure for my Christian life I continued church attendance, Scripture memory, and daily Bible reading up into college. While at college I had a student pastor share with me 1 John 5:11-13. For the first time in my life had the assurance that I did know God and was secure in him. I was drafted and went to Viet Nam. When I got back to college I got involved with the Navigators. Through them I learned the need for structure in the Christian life. Through Bible study and daily quiet times I learned how to structure my life so that no matter what happened I knew who I was, what was the meaning of life and how to make good decisions in life. Life has been an interesting journey but no matter what has happened I have always known God was with me, guiding me and holding me up. Beth came to the Lord at age 28 and studied her MA and Doctor of Religious Education at Southern California Seminary. We met at a church in Texas in 2000. She joined a Messianic Synagogue in 2011 and we were married in 2016. I have learned a lot by attending synagogue with Beth!

Our group is called the Heritage Storytelling Group. We meet on the second Friday of the month at Lomas Tramway Library in the meeting room on the south side of the building, from 4:00-5:00 PM. We're on Meetup here: https://meetup.com/Heritage-Storytelling-Group/ This is how we describe our group: "Workshop for adults and older teens of any age, any religion (or none). Hands-on practice crafting and telling stories from the Old Testament. The Scriptures strongly influenced our founding fathers in America, as well as several movements including the Great Awakening, Temperance and Manifest Destiny. We take turns each month telling stories and then discuss them together. Bring a Bible, paper and pencil if you want, but not necessary. Find out how many great stories are in the Bible and gain confidence in speaking before a small group and leading discussions."

If you're in the Albuquerque area please join us, and if you know anyone who'd be interested please tell them. We can be contacted at [email protected].

Interested in starting a group? Learn more here: https://is.gd/5Ajaz8

Involved with a Yeshua Group? Send in your story here: https://is.gd/RwoSRw

Want to help out? Volunteer here: https://is.gd/Qy2Afc

Sort:  

Congratulations @yeshuagroups! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61068.10
ETH 2655.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58