The mystery of prophecy: How can we know when a message has not been spoken by the LORD?, Deuteronomy 18:21

in #message3 years ago

In the old testament the people of Israel is a nation guided by God, and to fulfill this spiritual guide, God promises to send prophets to his people, this is what Moses teaches in the Book of Deuteronomy. The prophet is not a priest, the mission of the prophet when he reveals a mystery with the gift of prophecy, is to teach, correct, and reveal the future and the hidden of God: "I will raise up for them a prophet like you from among their fellow Israelites, and I will put my words in his mouth. He will tell them everything I command him. I myself will call to account anyone who does not listen to my words that the prophet speaks in my name." Deuteronomy 18:18-19.
The Canaanites, Philistines, and other Middle Eastern peoples practiced magic, astrology, divination, and speaking with the dead. This is forbidden in the alliance established with Moses, there is only one God and only he should be worshiped. These superstitious practices attract many people, the prophet as a man of God must ensure that the common and simple people do not fall into these practices. With superstition, sin enters and with this, the agreement with God is broken.
There should be no false prophets among the israelites explains the Bible: "But a prophet who presumes to speak in my name anything I have not commanded, or a prophet who speaks in the name of other gods, is to be put to death" Deuteronomy 18:20.
Moses explains how to recognize when a person is a true or false prophet:
"You may say to yourselves, ´How can we know when a message has not been spoken by the LORD?´ If what a prophet proclaims in the name of the LORD does not take place or come true, that is a message the LORD has not spoken. That prophet has spoken presumptuously, so do not be alarmed." Deuteronomy 18:21-22.
The mystery of prophecy. How can we know when a message has not been spoken by the LORD. Deuteronomy 18,21.jpg
For more information visit my profile follow the link and download for free my ebook.

Sort:  

You did well in your analysis and summery, however I recommend replacing the words "alliance", and "agreement" with covenant. Both words are similar, however there is a significant difference in their deeper meaning. I only say this because modern usages for those words have different and paling implications compared to there exact definitions. Covenant has mostly remained true to its original definition and implications.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65834.12
ETH 2676.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89