[CR] Mermaid Monday Contest: Freedom

in #mermaidmonday5 years ago (edited)

image
This is my drawing of a mermaid which will be my entry to the contest of @nymia.aryn. The theme for this week is about freedom. My idea is the protection of it so I drew a mermaid in uniform. She guards the freedom of the community she belongs. She is more of a soldier serving the community. The other facet of my drawing will be the freedom of choice. My mermaid chose to become a soldier which is usually the popular choice for the male gender.

The details of the contest could be found in this
link

Steps:

  1. Rough Sketch
    image
    I knew beforehand that I want a mermaid doing a role usually that of her opposite sex so a gun and a military uniform came to mind.

  2. Base Color
    image
    I started coloring the uniform then I work lightly on the skin. At this point I am deciding what color will the fins and tail would be. I made random patches of colors on her face and arm and I love it. This made me go for a koi fish look.

  3. Decide On The Tail
    image
    Koi fish it is. I made sure the tail looks like a koi so I used the basic koi fish colors as you can see. I love it. It helps if you hide the other layers to get you focused.

This is my entry hope you enjoyed reading the thought process I put into this creation. Have a nice day.
@hubyr

Sort:  

Thank you ! this mermaid has captured herself for others to be/and stay free <3 great artwork;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69107.15
ETH 3882.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65