You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Improving Retention on steemit - Exploring ideas for a Mentoring System

I probably count you as one of my first mentors! Greenacre was a big help too within this community when I had technical issues. Then there have been some wonderful supporters in the teamaustralia community too. Which goes to show how well these communities work as a support network.

My first feeling is I'm not sure there needs to be a reward system for mentors and that seems to be confirmed in other replies too. I think for those who choose to mentor they would do it because they want to give that help out knowing what it was like at the start for them. The reward would be if they were able to help someone stay the course. At least that's how I'd feel as a mentor.

The other thought would be that rather than a contest for graduation, would it be more prudent to just do the post commending them which can be a reward in itself. There are plenty of contests on here anyway, mentoring isn't really a competition type of thing and I wouldn't want to see it get that way. It's more about support.

Do you know when the biggest drop out rate tends to be? Perhaps the target or milestone could be when they pass this point. I'm not sure 500 SP would be a good one as this can be purchased if they choose or take a while to accumulate depending on the activity level. I wonder if a time period would be better.

Sort:  

I agree...I can see doing a small community reward for the new member after a time, and since we are a prepper/homesteading group it could be some seeds, a book...or some steem. Not as a contest, but just appreciation.

With no mentor, I started going through doubts around 2 months after I started posting...then @weetreebonsai found me and we started talking. So through her I found more of the community. She was why I stayed at that point.
Minnowsupport also offered community...they were a huge help.

So glad you found each other. That's a long time to go without any connections and support. Well done for sticking it out so long! I was lucky I found Pennsif and greenacre early on. I also had a guy give me some guidance first post. I forget who now, because we didn't have much in common and went separate ways when I connected with homesteaders, but I'll have to go through my old posts and thank him.

I think I stuck it out because I came with a purpose, to learn about cryptos, what they were and how they worked. So I spent alot of time lurking and reading, and listening on Discord...but I didn't come here to make money, so I didn't expect much. I was pleasantly surprised by the community :)
Steemit is a good place to learn.

Aww Thank You @elew I am the blessed one to find others with the same ideas on building a great community.
Learning crypto still has me scratching my head but @mericanhomestead is going to do another posting on just the wallet to explain it for us all when he gets back from Africa.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62934.10
ETH 2452.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66