Doing something alone is good, Doing something together brings a million new advantages

in #mentoring7 years ago (edited)

Life can feel like a giant group project some times.

If I am honest, I was the worst group project partner in highschool and my early college years. I was funny enough to get into good groups with my friends but rather than the MIA member, I was usually the member who never knew what was going on. It wasn't because I was ignorant or dumb either it was because I didn't care enough to try.

This was a dark time in my life haha!

After some miracle around December of my sophomore year in college I decided to try... What a novel idea.

I began to actually read my text books, and go to class, put in solid discussion in class, and yes, fully participated in group projects.

But If I am honest I see now that our culture doesn't glorify teams very well...
We tend to see that there are teams that are forgotten about and once man is the focal point.

Here are some examples...


If you can name more than one of these guys you were a mega fan in the 90's...

But Timberlake is all over the place now..

Now this team... just had one that got more exposure than the other.. but Steve kind of wanted it to look like he was the solo innovator .

So what am I getting at.

Teams can be entirely dysfunctional but I think they are entirely necessary for the furtherment and maturity of our businesses and the leadership development in our own lives.

As a Christian, I see these themes continually taught in the Bible as Jesus instructs and sends out his disciples in pairs, and how the formation of the church was laid on the shoulders of 12 men.

Proverbs 27:17 is another example of this.

Jesus calls us to be great teammates. We are to be great group project members.

Please find someone to pour into you, find someone to tell you where your weaknesses are, and let someone close enough to see where your blind spots are in your effectiveness.

I have found people in my life at every stage to rise up and teach me to be better.

I have @lydon.sipe to help me currently in my exploration of digital currency and all aspects of cryptocurrency.

All it takes is asking them to teach you what they know, invite them out to lunch, pay for their meal, thank them for their time and really take what they say seriously.

Sort:  

Hello @leftymckee ! I followed you and UpVoted you!
Very cool that you are here! Steem on!
I wish you happiness! You will be happy on SteemIt!

You have a good point. No man is self-made. Someone, somewhere contributed to the making. Good one.

we all have blind spots that can be seen by others. It is all just a matter of humbling yourself enough to listen.

Hello @Leftymckee I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community :) Nice post, Wish you much luck! Cheers! i will follow your account, please follow me .

Welcome to steemit. followed n upvoted

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65092.40
ETH 3470.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50