Can I Trust You With Money Matters; How Disciplineed Are You When Money Gets Into The Equation

in #mentor7 years ago

When wealth is lost, nothing is lost; when health is lost, something is lost; when character is lost, all is lost. - Billy Graham.

Some years back, when I just entered the university. I had no bank account (Not having a bank account as a fresher is something common among University student in Nigeria). I planned on opening one soon but my uncle wanted to send me money urgently. I could not open a bank account like almost immediately, so I asked my roommate to let me use his account. I was only expecting #10,000 which is about $30 dollars at the recent conversion rate.
He allowed me to use his account quite okay, so I sent my uncle the account number. Later at night, i asked my uncle if he had sent it and he said yes, so I waited for the next day to use the A.T.M machine. When I got to the machine, I saw only #6000 (which is about $18 in Nigeria present conversion rate) in my friend's account. I was bothered and immediately called my uncle to ask if he sent #10,000 and he said yes. I went back to the hostel to ask my friend why I saw #6000 in his account and he said that was his commission for using his account. How will you tell me you took #4000 as a commission for using your account. Well, that story didn't end well for him because I took the issue far seriously than he expected.


credit


I have noticed that people do misbehave and show a great height of indiscipline when money comes into the picture. Situations where friends look for the downfall of another friend who introduced them to a business, so as to take everything and own it to themselves.
Discipline is what keeps your money and leave you content with what you have. If you earn a million dollars through hard work and you lack discipline, you will finish that money in 20 minutes.
There are people who cannot be trusted with money matters, they see everything and want to get everything for themselves, they can not delay the gratification when money is involved.


credit

There are people I can't give my A.T.M card to, there are friends I can't lend money or introduce to businesses because I can't trust their judgement with handling money.
It is not the amount you make, it is how well you manage your wealth that makes you richer.
Can people trust your judgement when it comes to money issues?
Can you be trusted with a money because you will not spend it?
If you can't, then you have to start working on your weaknesses.

fancy-line-divider.jpg

DO NOT FORGET STEEMIT IN NIGERIA (SIN). I WILL BE THERE AND I WANT YOU TO BE THERE...

Sin.jpg


Thanks to @son-of-satire for the generic footer

GENERIC.gif
Thanks to @elyaque for my first badge

Bildschirmfoto 2017-06-13 um 16.44.32.png

small-4605-5908eb3da2bfa.png

Nigerian community badge by @jodipamungkas
PACKET CURATOR NIGERIAN @gbenga.png

Badge by @royalfinest
gbenga badge from @royalfinest.jpeg

divider.png

Sort:  

Discipline is what keeps your money and leave you content with what you have. If you earn a million dollars through hard work and you lack discipline, you will finish that money in 20 minutes.

Definitely true, a friend of mine makes huge amount of money through graphic designs, but he keeps borrowing money from people and fail to pay them back, therefore causing problems for himself.

There's no how someone can succeed in life without proper discipline and accountability. warren buffet wouldn't have gotten to where he is now without proper discipline.

  • Thanks for sharing this lovely piece.

My pleasure @ememovic. I love people who are disciplined.

Wow amazing post @gbenga thanks for sharing.

Thanks a lot for taking time to read my post, I'm glad you liked it

Ur welcome happy steeming.

I have a popular quote to butress your message sir

You dont deserve yours if you can't other people's property

Thanks so much for the message. God bless. Article upvoted and Resteemed

I'm glad you liked it. Thanks for reading

This is actually some amazing work! Followed...

Thanks a lot

still same,the best mentor everyday @gbenga :)

Thanks my very good friend @jodipamungkas and thanks for the badges.

You are welcome my best mate @gbenga , that my duty

Yes! In case of money matter we don't want to take in trust others.. Though the previous experiences with that person relating to money matter is not fruitful... Right?

Exactly, it wasn't fruitful

No matter the amount you gather, if you are not discipline it will amount to nothing and might turn such person with indiscipline to beggar in the long run.
there's a spirit behind money that might cause people to misbehave without discipline and right mindset about money.
Good insight @gbenga

discipline is the key to anything a person does

This is an interesting topic. The introduction of many as an exchange has brought us some problems in the real sense. It makes us know the real being behind every being. Africans have this belief that people borrow another person's behavior when they are poor. To know the person's true color, give him money and his real self will show.

Money control some and many have bad judgements when it comes to managing money.

I can't trust some people with money either or lend them money because that could be the end of my money.

WOW... That's not a lie, But i believe this kind of thing still happens everywhere

I can't emphasize enough how important discipline is. It dictates how our lives turn out. It's tied to our daily habits. If you are not disciplined you will have difficulty sticking to your goals, achieving what you had set for yourself. I can't think of a more undesirable character trait.

That's the truth. Discipline is one vital key to success

My brother, I’ve experience a similar thing, but it wasn’t from a friend but from a relative. I felt so bad. Well, that is humanity for you

People should learn to control themselves when money is in the equation. Sometimes they do it out of greed, or with the intention that they can get it back

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54147.93
ETH 2274.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35