Mentors: Do You Have One?

in #mentor7 years ago

We have all heard the age-old expression: “you are what you eat.”


Image Source

We tell this to children constantly, forcing them to eat more nutritious foods than the carb-laden, sugary snacks they love. What we put into our bodies, eventually becomes part of our bodies, right?

However, this idea can be applied to other areas of our lives, not just what we consume in terms of calories. Today, during my Stoic Week meditation, I was reflecting on this idea.

Specifically, who influences your development as a human. As a younger man, I never put much thought into those I associated with in my life. Usually, I spent time with other people my age who made me laugh or liked having a good time.

Occasionally, I would associate with a group of peers whose interests aligned with mine (e.g. martial art clubs). I certainly never went out of my way to find a mentor to instruct me on how to be a better man. Sometimes, I would come across such men and follow their advice, many times I would not.


Image Source

As I get older, I understand the importance of mentors and positive role models. The Roman Emperor Marcus Aurelius in his personal diary, often published as The Reflections of Marcus Aurelius starts his diary with a long list of men who have mentored or taught him specific important life lessons.

Every name he lists made an imprint on this man’s life. Marcus Aurelius understood that his growth as a man and a Stoic would have been stagnant without either the implicit or explicit teachings of these various men. He wanted to express his gratitude for this.

This morning, I myself reflected upon both my overt mentors and those more covert mentors who taught me valuable lessons and provided advice throughout my life. Although I did not have as many as Marcus Aurelius did, I did have a few who left an indelible mark on my soul.

May you identify and honor those
mentors who have impacted your life.

#Stoicweek


PANDA'S LATEST POSTS:


A Prospector's Paradise - The Digital Gold Miner
Youbit Exchange Files for Bankruptcy After North Korean Cyberattack
On Developing An Unconquerable Mindset (Part I)
Scarcity Versus Abundance

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Interested in joining The Unmentionables? Click the banner to apply today!

Unmentionables

Sort:  

Mentors are so important and beneficial for us!

Great post.

I keep a list of people I am grateful to. Didn't know that about Marcus Aurelius — I am still with Plutarch in my ancient authors reading program :)

I am in the perpetual state of the personal upgrade and learning, so I can say I have a lot of mentors from various fields.
Nowadays people are connected faster and better then ever, so learning new things are quite easy if a person has a will and interest to do it.
The possibilities for prosperity are endless because so many people with skills are willing to share them online and that knowledge is available to everybody.

very good to read this post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64189.84
ETH 2796.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65