You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dealing with Depression

in #mentalhealth7 years ago

Reading through that post and, oh boy, did it sound familiar, haha. I don't suffer from depression, although I'm sure doctors might say otherwise (but then they have a vested interest in creating repeat customers), but I relate to pretty much everything else you mention.

Thank you for your honesty.

Sort:  

Thank you for reading my story @the-dagda. You don't have to feel depressed to understand the feelings I'm trying to portray, so don't feel pressured to thinking something is wrong with you because a doctor said it. I feel like people my age aren't open minded and just take in the consumerism that the businesses and media are giving, they want to be like the celebrities and the attractive people online, earn money for doing nothing. Everything is about how you look to others. I may be wrong but that's my analysis, haven't met many people in their 20's wanting to talk about anything besides parties, alcohol , drugs and what they bought in the store.

I agree completely, young people nowadays are blinded by media into becoming what I lovingly refer to as "consumer slaves", not that there's really anything wrong with that if that's how you want to live your life, but, hey, let's have a meaningful conversation that doesn't revolve around the vapid nonsense being sold to you by the master propagandists and social engineers every once and a while, haha. I hope that doesn't sound too harsh, haha.

Even my own friends (we're all in our twenties) tend to lean towards that consumerist, materialist attitude on occasion but I usually try and force them into looking at things from a different perspective. But to be fair to them, my friends are very good, it's rare when I feel disconnected from them, and we always have decent conversations.

All that being said, drugs and alcohol definitely have their uses, haha. And there are also very important conversations that need to occur regarding drugs that people just aren't having because of perceived stigmas around drug use and drug users, but that's a topic for another day haha.

Anyway, I hope I've not said too much, and remember there are always more people out there that feel the same way as you, it's just a matter of finding them.

I get what you're trying to say lol don't worry, you haven't said too much :P I think some drugs can be good and healthy but some are just completely destructive, there is a whole thing about being "cool" when taking drugs and I don't agree with that as I know its a way of escapism to most people , not something they do just because their friend is. It's not a topic I have a lot of knowledge in so I don't want to start discussing it in case I may offend someone. And yes , when you can have a meaningful conversation with a friend than the fake , nonsense chit chats that makes, me personally, feel like there is still hope lol but chit chats are nice too ^_^

Yeah, there's nothing wrong with chit chat, but when that chit chat is the revolving around the same topics day in and day out it can become quite mundane, especially when those topics are mostly about celebrity gossip and other such nonsense, haha.

I understand your reluctance to discuss drugs when you admittedly have little knowledge about the topic, most people will gladly speak about such things regardless of how much they know (I think it's because they always think they know everything). Also, I doubt your views on the subject would offend anyone.

Oh yes!!! that's exactly it! and I'm generally a really open minded person with not many fixed views as I understand that the world is filled with different opinions and perspectives, but yes a lot of intelligent people seem to think they know everything but there are so many things to learn in the world ^^ I only know about medical drugs like Gerozac fluoxetine which is an anti depressant and some others as well but that would be as far as my knowledge can take me >_<

I've been fascinated by drugs, both pharmaceutical and otherwise, from an early age so I've learned a lot about them, I could talk about them for days, haha.

But anyway you've a good head on your shoulders and this little conversation has been quite refreshing for me so thanks for putting up with my ramblings, haha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54179.48
ETH 2261.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31