Riley Deveau

in #mentalhealth6 years ago

4152475C-4383-4A59-AE54-90EF9552CABD.jpegMy name is Riley Deveau, and I have dysthymia depression, panic disorder and obsessive compulsive disorder.
Notice I say "I have" and not "I am". That's because I have these illnesses, but they are not who I am. I grew up assuming that my illnesses defined me, because it's all I knew, but I'm so much more than that. I'm a YouTuber. I'm a foodie. I'm a judoka. I'm a good son, a good brother, and a good boyfriend. I love to lift weights. I love old school rock music and 90's pop punk.
I'm Riley Deveau. I'm a human being, not my mental illness
I want to start a movement. A movement that helps people understand that even though they suffer with a mental illness, that's not who they are. People need to be able to talk openly about their illness without being labeled as "the person with depression" or "the person with PTSD" or whatever you may suffer from. You are so much more than your illness. You are a person, and it's time people started knowing you, the individual, before labelling you with a sickness that isn't your fault. Ive gone through it all, including medication addiction and suicide attempts, and now im obsessed with alternative medicine, including diet, exercise, hyperthermic therapy and cannabis. Welcome to Trinity.

Sort:  

This post has received gratitude of 1.00 % from @jout thanks to: @rileydeveau.

You got a 0.08% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @jout!

Good job! Thanks to @brianturner you have planted 0.07 tree to save Abongphen Highland Forest in Cameroon. Help me to plant 1,000,000 trees and share my Steem Power to the others. Selfvoting is prohibited, but that should be the reason to spread the world to protect our precious environment. Check out profile of our conservation association @kedjom-keku and the founder/coordinator @martin.mikes to get more information about our conservation program. My current SP is 14420.72. Help me to plant more trees with your delegated SP.

Thanks a lot,
your @treeplanter
www.kedjom-keku.com

Hey Riley, good to see you're on here man! You will definitely see a lot from posting on this site especially with funding your mental health initiatives! Keep posting, check out my videos on how to post to d.tube and stay consistent. I'm stoked to see you post here!

Hello Riley Deveau, mental illness suck dick

I'am with you with your movement. Keep it up!

Congratulations @rileydeveau! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

hi dude i hope you get the right treatment and my heart goes out to you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57453.27
ETH 2928.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67