You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Real Talk: My Experience with Suicidal Thoughts & the Effect of Suicide in my life.

I appreciate your honesty and am sending you so much love for sharing this story. The first time I thought about taking my own life was in grade 4. Gratefully, I never went through with it, though my uncle did. I also remember riding in the car with my best friend when she took a whole bunch of pills, then decided maybe that wasn't the way she wanted it to end.

It is of vital importance that we respect each other, that we realize mental health affects everyone in one way or another, and that we stop giving people the sense that they have to hide it all away. None of us are alone, even though it can feel like it.

Big hugs and huge love to you, your family, and everyone who is touched by depression. Blessings!💖

Sort:  

It is of vital importance that we respect each other, that we realize mental health affects everyone in one way or another, and that we stop giving people the sense that they have to hide it all away. None of us are alone, even though it can feel like it.

Absolutely THIS. I hear so many people talk about their depression/mental illness like it's something that only they have to deal with, that it makes them 'broken' or defective and I think the only way to combat that is to be more open. People need to not feel isolated when so many of us deal with it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61124.40
ETH 2666.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60