9 out of 10 Bipolars Became This Way Through Antidepressant Induced Mania | If you think this will never happen in your family, think again.

in #mentalhealth8 years ago (edited)

My aunt posted this article recently on her Facebook page. It proclaims that 9 out of 10 persons with #bipolar disorder became that way as a result of taking #antidepressants. While I cannot comment on the scientific validity of the article and whether or not it may over sensationalize the issue, I can write about what has happened to my mother, whom almost certainly has been a victim of antidepressant induced mania.

Before I continue I must express that I do not believe that antidepressants are bad. For some individuals with serious #mental-illness antidepressants are a necessary course of treatment, essential to recovery. In my opinion antidepressants are not the issue; the issue is that they are over prescribed, especially given that they can have serious side effects such as what has occurred with my mother. 

My mother has had two manic episodes, both of which immediately followed being prescribed a SSRI (Serotonin reuptake inhibitor) antidepressant. During her manic episodes my mother has alienated friends; placed my parent’s financial security in jeopardy; stolen money to fuel spending; experienced delusions; and eventually she had to be involuntarily committed. Visiting my mother while she was committed was one of the saddest things I have ever had to do, mostly because I felt as if the person I was visiting was no longer the mother I knew. Her love for her family remained, I could feel it, but there was no reaching her as she was masked behind the illness.

My mother wound up spending over 1 month being involuntarily committed, and was released a little over 1 week ago as the hospital legally could no longer hold her against her will. She refuses treatment and has never acknowledged her illness, despite the fact it has caused so much suffering for the family. She is calmer after her stay; however, she still exhibits many telltale signs that indicate she is not well. There is not much we can do at this point but try to keep in contact and monitor her behavior. I hope that she can recover from this latest episode, but I cannot help but think that she will never be quite the same.

My mother’s descent into #mania was rapid. A little pill daily and within a matter of months my mother went from being normal (as normal as we all are) to being committed and deemed incompetent. It just goes to show how powerful modern medicines are. They provide us with enormous benefits, and yet they also can carry with them huge consequences.

Something to keep in mind #steemit users if you, a friend, or a family member is beginning to take an antidepressant. 

Sort:  

"It proclaims that 9 out of 10 persons with #bipolar disorder became that way as a result of taking #antidepressants. "
Lol this is just so far off base I don't even know where to start aha a lot of people in this world have been diagnosed bipolar without being any prior medications period... That is definitely not a 'fact' haha

Yes. I agree. The article is extremely biased. That's why I don't comment on it.
However, I can tell you from my first hand experience that there is an issue with antidepressants causing bipolar disorders and/or manic episodes. Maybe it's 1 in 10. Maybe it's 1 in 100. Who knows? I also highly doubt it's 9 out of 10. I just wanted to communicate that it is a real side effect that does affect some individuals.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64724.80
ETH 3460.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51