Taking Up Space

in #mentalhealth8 years ago

Hey Steemers!

I want this next post to be expansive. I wish to walk the walk of the message I hope to convey: that taking up space is GOOD. See what I did there? ;)


I have come to realize that my eating disorder is a manifestation of my profound fear of taking up space in this world, particularly in the lives of others. I've never wanted to impose, so I leave events early and avoid initiating interactions. I consume less, to avoid taking what someone else could use. I apologize at every turn, for every differing opinion, too- loud laugh, and accidental contact. I apologize for my existence. What the hell is up with that?

What I discussed above are all ways of altering my behavior to reduce my impact, to leave less defined footprints in the sand of life. This compression of my presence used to extend to my physical body as well. I felt, on conscious and unconscious levels, that taking up physical space was wasteful and ugly. I thought that the less of me there was, the more worthy I was of love. So I starved myself. There is nothing romantic about this- I became a skinny, hungry shadow of what my soul longed to be.

Now, I refuse to do this. I refuse to deny myself moments of intimacy, indulgence, or loudness. Instead I will expand into the farthest reaches of my life, to the Mt. Everest's and Grand Canyons and Great Barrier Reefs. My footsteps will be deep trenches in the sand. I will ask for help from others, as this allows for profound moments of connection and actually benefits BOTH individuals. I will eat dessert and dance ridiculously and sing at the top of my lungs with my car windows rolled down.

We vibrate at higher frequencies when we ALLOW ourselves to. When we refuse to put limitations on our innately exuberant selves. I invite you to laugh loudly, maybe snort, at the jokes you yourself tell. I encourage you to butter your bread, and cheers to the greatness of this universe with a glass of red.

I celebrate your existence, and my own.

Sort:  

I think you're beautiful and you're not only taking up space, you are sharing the space. Only apologize if you are absolutely wrong. Live with NO regrets. Dare to be fabulous because the people who care will celebrate you and the people who don't care don't matter.

I love "Dare to be fabulous" and the idea of viewing our interactions as celebrations of each other. You are so right, we do coexist in the spaces we inhabit and the relationships we create.

Congratulations on your new life!

I really appreciate that :)

A wonderful, wonderful post. I was moved and inspierd. Thank you.

It makes me so happy to hear that. Thank you for reaching out, friend.

good for you! - keep it up, you'll find clarity.

I can really relate to your path

a quote from a favorite social media influencer of mine "Vulnerability. Do you know what happens when you share your demons enough? Your anxieties, your fears, your skeletons? You start to gather a village of other humans saying, 'Me too'" (Lauren Bondi) Thank you for reaching out!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59209.84
ETH 2659.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43