Mental Health and Stigma: Revisiting the Topic with Greater PerspectivesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #mentalhealth7 years ago (edited)
Sort:  

Our minds are so powerful, we have the ability to overcome whatever we choose to. We are all on this journey together gaining experiences and sharing them.

Why break habits and behaviors when we can revise the erroneous entry. :)

I completely agree that anyone, no matter how "broken," has potential to improve and grow as a human. I just want to say that even though we should support one another through the struggle of obtaining positive mental health... we cannot force it. It is an individual experience that is not possible unless the person chooses to pursue a better life. I simply wanted to put this out there because I endured a 2 year emotionally abusive relationship with a "narcissist" who I tried to help. He was broken, and I know he has the potential to heal, but he chooses not to. I tried to help for a while but couldn't deal with the abuse... it got pretty ugly. So even though his "illness" is not permanent, he continues to endure it because he believes his situation will not change. That's why I agree with your statement "Our minds have the power to change everything about our reality." I am trying to improve my mental health through my own personal journey now and I am starting to realize how true this is. Wonderful post @clayboyn and best wishes!

I know what your talking about, and honestly I struggled for a while trying to figure out if I or they were the one being narcissistic and in the end I can tell you what I know for a fact is that I did not have the perspective to make that assessment of anyone else but myself. I think we all go through shit and at some point we start believing that the things we are feeling or going through are our own fault. If I was a "victim" it was because I didn't know my own self well enough to have been in that situation. I'm not justifying the "emotional abuse," because trust me I have dealt with emotional manipulation and abuse my entire life, but what I'm saying is that if I had a high enough self worth and respected myself enough to remove myself from any situation that I felt was damaging me, then I wouldn't have been in it in the first place. For all I know, I was the only toxic person involved. It isn't for me to judge anyone else on how they respond or cope with their past. If I love them, then I love them completely, just like I do with everyone now, and any complications that come with that are either me allowing them or not having the will power to say no. I now know how to remove myself from situations I don't find beneficial to my own mental health and well being.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65236.35
ETH 3483.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51