You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Our Relationship to Food

in #mentalhealth8 years ago

Thank you for being vulnerable in your writing and for sharing your struggles. Food is medicine both for body and soul! There is always a balance to be found, but you are correct, it is not something to fear. I definitely identify with what you said about denying myself something, then having wants and desires for that thing as a result!

Sort:  

That's a great point, I definitely believe in finding a balance. It just seems to me like there is a large community of people who are on the side of over- restriction, you know? I appreciate you reaching out, and am glad that the words resonate with you.

You are correct that there is a large community that over-restricts! They do need to hear that life is not about denying yourself every pleasure, this is why I up-voted your post! In my life at least, over-restriction and over-indulgence are two sides to the same coin. I find myself restricting until I can't handle it anymore. Then I indulge for a while until sickness and guilt causes me to restrict again! Neither is healthy in my life, I can feel the negative effects of both lifestyles. This is why I look for balance (although it is very difficult!). Keep writing! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63707.79
ETH 2610.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81