Bereavement is just deferred grief.

in #mental8 years ago

Found out mother-in-law passed Friday night. Leaving for Florida in the morning. Have to get two girls out of school for three days.

Good news: found out bereavement lasts five days instead of three. Back to work next Tuesday morning. But I realized, the world did not stop spinning when her life ended. If anything, I was not able to grieve right away.

She was not my mom, so I worked three shifts; two at the restaurant, one at my day job. Instead of gearing down for mourning, I geared up for recycling refuse frijoles Negroes, overcooked black beans.

My mental break started yesterday morning; hold onto my 5:30PM shift ending, get to the nearest bed. Now I wait for two little girls to get out of school. Maybe that's why my body feels the way it does?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62948.49
ETH 2583.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74