Destination : HAPPINESS ? 😁

in #mental3 years ago (edited)

Ever since I was a little girl, I felt like I was different than everyone. I never really fit in, never felt I belonged. It was a truly terrible feeling, and one I would focus on much too often.

I remember starting school every September, and I would think, this is it. This year will be so much better.

It never ever worked.

There was a reason it never worked. I wasn't meant to change. As much as I wanted to. The change wasn't for me, it was for others. As an adult, I see this now, but as a Child, how could I?

It would last a few days, maybe even weeks. Maybe I had switch schools or moved and would be able to keep up the front a bit longer.

It didn't matter. I wouls most definitely be teased , made fun up, even beat up, and I was not a fighter. Because I looked different. Because my eyes were too big for my head and I was much too hyper at that age, not how little girls should behave.

And so, began my continous cycle of Destination Happiness.

You know exactly what I'm talking about.

You'll have that perfect life as soon as you loose 20 pounds, find that perfect man or woman, or job, finally take that perfect trip. For me, it was trying to make the perfect personality that everyone would love.

I read a quote the other day that elobrates on this.

"Beware of Destination Addiction. The idea that happiness is the next place, the next job, or even with the next partner. Until you give up that Happiness is somewhere else, it will never be where you are."

I would be a wonderful world if we could all just be happy, but honestly, I'll take a sense of contentment any day.

I didn't deserve to be bullied to the point of thinking I needed to become a different person to be liked, or even loved. As a Child, I couldn't of known what I know now, but a part of me wishes I could whisper to that little girl, " Don't Ever Change".

We see Destination Addiction everywhere on Social Media. People constantly comparing themselves, trying to be better, trying to fit in. We feel less than if we don't have the latest phone, car, clothes, house. Most beautiful family,spouse etc. It's toxic to our mental health, and as a society it has become the norm.

So let's just stop.

1f0ec6a0116a6241b620dae0f0044483.jpg

I've begun writing a gratitude journal, and yes as woo woo as it sounds it does work. Talking a moment everyday to remind yourself what you're grateful for, doesn’t just remind you to be more grateful. It shows you how beautiful your life is, how loved you are. You know, the stuff that really matters.

Just do you Baby, and you'll be just fine.

chakra-mind-spiritual-human-yoga-third-eye-head-mental-health-watercolor-painting-illustration-design-hand-drawing-chakra-mind-193100782.jpg

Sort:  

What a lovely post you just wrote.
Thank you for sharing!

Thank you so much! Truly appreciate the compliment.

Great post!
Get some dogecoin & keep up the great work
one love

Gratitude is important. I have heard that the only charm we can do to have good fortune, is to say thank you to be able to recognize it.

But, I know nothing. Cheers!

I absolutely love that saying, and what are you talking , you just taught me something 😃

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64535.04
ETH 3462.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49