Mental Math and an Out of the Body Experience (OBE) - Part 2

in #mental7 years ago

In my previous post I described the method I used to multiply numbers in my head. In this part, I describe what happened to me when I decided to square a 12 digit number in my head. One evening, I went to bed and started the calculation. Multiplying numbers in your head takes a lot of concentration. The whole calculation felt like it took about 15 minutes. To my surprise, when I checked the clock it had been an hour and fifteen minutes. So, I wrote down the answer to be checked the next morning and proceeded to fall asleep. It was not much later, I heard a strange humming sound. As I listened, it seemed to grow louder and louder. Finally, I felt it was necessary to get up and investigate. But, my body would not respond. I tried to get out of bed, but my arms and legs, would not budge. Then, the fear started. It seemed overwhelming. Was I paralyzed? Was I dead? Suddenly, the sound went away and the fear did too. I got up out of bed and proceeded to walk to the other room in the dorm. I walked by the bathroom and heard paper tearing. I could see the light coming out of the room, but did not look in to the open door. I proceeded past the bathroom to the other room and looked around. There was no one there. There were a few lights on and the beds and dressers, and other items in the room seemed normal. Then suddenly, I could feel gravity but in the wrong direction. I realized I was laying in bed. I got up and walked to the bathroom to find my roommate had just been unwrapping a toilet paper roll. He said that he had not seen me walk past the door. So, maybe it all was a dream after all. To me, what was strange was the details of the sounds and sights. I am pretty sure that when walking past the door, it sounded like the sound was coming from inside the bathroom on the right. The image of the visited room was clear in living color and minute details. It would of been more convincing if I had seen my roommate in the bathroom, but I had not looked.

My theory why the bizarre experience occurred:

The calculations and memorization required to solve the problem is similar to a mantra. The intense concentration might be causing a saturation of neurotransmitters in a region of the brain. This might explain the loss of awareness of time passing. Also, as the calculation proceeds, more and more neurotransmitters are required to perform the work. In a sense, it is possible that the region of the brain doing the work, essentially shorts out due to the flood of transmitters. So, the action is similar to a meditation or like a whirling dervish.

In any case, if anyone else tries this, please let me know if you have similar experiences.

Sort:  

Congratulations @eekbert! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56125.76
ETH 2526.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27