Coping Box

in #mental7 years ago

Late Night Ideas

       Last night in P.A.L. discord chat we somehow got on the subject on selfcare, I think either @crimsonclad mentioned it or @stitchybitch or it could have even been @scaredycatguide it was late around 3 or 4am in my time zone. I recalled an idea from this website. Which brought me to making this post today. The article talks about a box filled with stuff to help you feel better and focus on doing the opposite of a negative reaction. This box can be used for normal people too because in the end it is all about self care. I will admit I do have a few mental health issues myself so having this box will be a great skill. I have tried before having the coping items around me but stuff gets moved around a lot in my office so things have got lost. Essentially I will have the bare minimum in it as I get more funds I will add more to it.

Self Soothing Items

  • Stuffed Animal (I might make one)
  • Worry doll
  • Stress Ball
  • Snow-globe or galaxy bottle
  • Happy Pictures
  • Things to taste
  • Scented candles
  • Scented Pillow Pouch
  • Lotion
    This is a galaxy bottle I couldn't find a link back to the source but this is it
    552ce7d3b71cff4bc988ac824722d045.jpg
    I was thinking of something like these little guys for my worry dolls
    funny-705818_640.jpg
    Source

Distractions

  • Puzzle books
  • Coloring Books
  • Movies
  • Knitting
  • Sewing

Opposite Action(Doing something opposite of your impulse)

  • Affirmations (I could easily buy these but will making them by hand and using some words from @cryptohustlin's daily posts and my own trading cards)
  • Something comforting

Emotional Awareness(Tools for identifying your emotions)

  • Journal
  • Emotions list
  • Writing Supplies

I will not be setting a timeline on when I will finish it but when it is completed I will show you guys.

ArtsyGoddessHeader.jpg

Sort:  

woah the colors in the bottles are so trippy, reminds me of candy. good stuff!

This is an amazing idea! I love it!
Can't wait to see the contents when you are done!

Thank you I just hope I get it done

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Artsygoddess from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This comment has received a 0.63 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Add some upbeat music!

I might if I can find some :)

I think this idea is great. I would like to have a coping box myself and now that I know how I will try to fix one:-) Thanks very much for sharing this!

This is a great idea. It will provide you with something to open up and fill the void or bring you back in balance when you feel out-of-sorts. This might be something I should do, but then mine would probably be filled with chocolate and stuffed animals; and I might never get my work done.

Very nice job here. I approve. :-) Learning how to self cope is great for you and dealing with stress

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63837.42
ETH 2539.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65