A functioning depressed person

in #mental-health7 years ago

The alarm went off at seven but I'd been awake since five as usual only today I didn't doze, falling in and out of sleep. It was time to start getting the kids up and getting them to school. I've never been a morning person but over the years I've got a routine so this week I've run on auto pilot.

Fill the kettle,
power up the computer,
make a coffee,
chase up the kids,
go online,
stare into space until it's time to do the first school run.

At nine O'clock the school runs are over and exhausted I get back in the house and go back to bed with a cup of tea for Mrs Alienbutt. I lay there until about eleven, eyes closed, not sleeping or thinking, the sound of morning television interrupting my none thoughts.

Finally we get up, the wife has a load of blood tests to do so I ignore the aches and my lack of energy and I drive the five minutes to the blood clinic. We had to wait about ten minutes for my wife to give her blood samples and then nip down to the shops, the wife needs to be drinking more water because there is a problem with her lithium so I put myself aside and it's time to be a carer. Buying a bottle of water each day means I can monitor how much she is drinking by just seeing what water is left.
A quick nip into the doctors to order more tablets and then back home.

We bought some tins of soup for lunch so I warm them up, I've no interest in having any but eat it. With the wife's lunch sorted she sits down to watch some TV while I write this. It takes about two weeks for my tablets to start to take effect and my mood is still dropping but I'm functioning and able to do the things that need to be done. When you first start on anti depressants there is a chance they can make your mood drop, even make you suicidal so I know to keep a check on that.
Being a carer for someone with a mental health illness means I'm more aware of watching my mood as I wait for my tablets to start working. I've been through this before so I know it will get better and my mood will start to improve, my energy levels will rise and things will return to normal.

It will be nice to sleep properly again and wake up cursing the alarm instead of laying there waiting for it.

It's almost time for the afternoon school run, then the cooking of dinners and all the normal things that being part of a family so I'll pretend to be fine until the kids bedtime.

Now here's a pretty photograph of mine for the spammers to comment on.
sunset 1.jpg

Sort:  

Good story and i like you picture

Thank you for sharing this. It takes a lot of effort to do things when your mood is down. But you do have the knowledge that the medicine will work and you will be feeling better soon. Are there support groups for caregivers where you live? Sometimes having someone to talk to that is in the same sort of situation helps...

There isn't any support groups but I've been referred for counselling.

Perhaps when you are feeling better, you could start one. I am sure there are other people in the same sort of situation.

I know this has to be really difficult for you some days. No matter how much we love the people we give care to, it has to be extremely wearing. I'm not sure if this site can help you, but you might want to check it out: http://www.carersuk.org/ Keeping you and yours in my thoughts always.

Thanks, I'll have a look.

One foot infront of the other until they kick in . Hope you are both feeling better soon. At least you know what is going on. Greatful for that. 🐓🐓

It does help to know what is going on, having an awareness of how my mood was dropping into depression meant I got help before it overwhelmed me, although left it a little late.

It's a tough thing to manage. Got to know yourself pretty well. Take care.🐓🐓

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87