Memories of an orphan (1)

in #memorys7 years ago (edited)

gebr.beukers 367.jpg

My mother was sometimes a bit naive.

She once wanted to buy a 'Straatkrant' (like The Big Issue) of a homeless man in Rotterdam, where she worked at a department store. But she only had a banknote of 25 Dutch guilders in her wallet.

"That does not matter, ma'am, I will change it for you", he said. And gone was the guy.

My mother waited for a few minutes for a man who, of course, never came back.

Occasionally, I revived the story. Especially on moments she only wanted to see the positive characteristics in a person. It always ended in calling her 'the ostrich'.

She then smiled and said: "But he may have had an accident. And if not, he had a good day".

Sort:  

Great post. I used to see the good in people all the time. It was like a grim compulsion. I was ripped off and dragged through the mud so many times that I realised I had to be NEUTRAL :)Upvoted and Resteemed for quality content.

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61604.80
ETH 3444.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50