Just some personal thoughts on Memorial Day.

in #memoriallast year

image.png

First war I ever protested was the Vietnam War. Don't even remember why I early on believed it was a bogus war, but I remember the assassination of JFK, and I read books about it, and learned that he was killed, by those inside our own government. Yes, and convince me that isn't true?

But I never denigrated or spit on a soldier who returned, only partly alive anymore, for participating in that war. I never, ever blamed a single one of them. In that era, they were drafted, and unless they had connections, they had no choice. It has always been the working class children that have been sent off to fight the wars for profit to the few at the cost of the many.

Now they tell us that soldiers walk off to wars because it is their choice and there is no longer a draft. How many choices do they really still have, seriously? Take industry and good paying jobs out of a society, and the military, which provides travel and education, can easily recruit. We are all stupid when we are 18. So many join, and then end up in foreign wars, and are all told that they are fighting for our freedoms.

It's a great con, and I get it. I don't blame the young people that participated in our wars of foreign conquest, and believed they were part of a greater good. Not their fault. And those that return, with loss of limbs and PTSD get thrown in the trash bin of history.

I'll just ask one question: How many wars that have been fought in your lifetime have actually benefited you?

I can answer for you. Not a single one. World peace would be possible if wars were not so profitable. We are all being conned. And those that profit care not one shit about you, just cannon fodder.

But great love to those that have died and suffered because of this big lie, and your courage in battle is not to be denied.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57951.76
ETH 2347.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36