Tuttle To Texas: Another bite at the apple

in #memoir7 years ago

03032010477

About this time last year, when I was getting going on Steemit, I tried to serialise my writing about a trip I did in 2010 called "Tuttle to Texas". The basic idea then was for a bunch of me and my friends to crowdfund (dangerously new and radical idea at the time) and blog our way across the USA to the SWSXi festival in Austin, Texas. We (a varying group over three weeks) did it, we stopped off in Boston, NYC, DC, Atlanta, New Orleans before Austin and then I travelled on to Los Angeles on my own. It was great, and there are lots of stories to tell and it led into further work in the following year.

I've written a few things before, but stalled, so here's another go at it. I'm going to take the daily writing I did at the time and reflect on it a bit more, see what there is in there. The main interest for me now, nearly eight years later is what it was all about, why did I think it was an important thing to do? It was in the same class, at the time, as some of the cutting edge crypto stuff is for me now. What drives this kind of thing? And what was the underlying stuff that was going on.

Also, it was so all-encompassing that perhaps it needs a few years distance and reflection to look at it properly - you can actually tell a lot by what things came after it, what things it led indirectly to.

This is what I'm also trying to do over on the Tuttle blog, but there are lots of ways into it - maybe I'll get enlightened, maybe I'll get bored, maybe something else will happen. In any case, I'm going to start again with it this week.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61852.16
ETH 2402.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60