Do immigrants “steal” jobs from workers?

in #memes7 years ago

Throughout alt-right campaigns to positions of power, politicians nowadays promise to implement new immigration policies to help improve national job markets.

A motivating factor behind their proposed policies - including stricter deportation policies and visa control - is their belief that immigrants are stealing job opportunities from national workers.

“They’re taking our jobs. They’re taking our manufacturing jobs. They’re taking our money. They’re killing us.” — Trump - July 2015

What do you guys think? Do immigrants really "steal" jobs from national workers?

Sort:  

I don't believe they do, if there was a job opening and no one took it, the immigrant is not stealing anything from anyone, remember that immigrants have a huge tendency to take the jobs that no one else wants to do.

Darn, too late to upvote but I do think it happens, in part, that if there are lower paying jobs that need filled, and NO ONE was here to fill the Jobs, the Market would dictate higher wages and then Americans would take the jobs. It's mostly the businesses exploiting the situation. It is even way more complex than that, but I'm sleepy too, so lazy I can't type! lol

I get your point and you kinda changed my view on the topic. It really needs to be researched. The market is not so simple as a static posting for jobs with fixed prices. I hope I can get to the core of the issue sometime since this is a very debated topic.

Yeah, I do not blame the illegals, if I was in Mexico it would not be for long! I'd be up here. Both political parties promote illegals coming in. I worked with a bunch of them in one place, good people, very hard working, but mostly illegals. Nearly all of them had fake ID, SS cards and drivers licenses. They paid SS and taxes. But the cards are invalid, their input is just to keep the system SOLVENT! These folks are being used as pawns by The Swamp Creatures! It is so convoluted that Trump is probably right in his end game, but primarily, verbally attacking the illegals is mostly attention getting pandering to the base. It is easier and faster than educating the whole extent of the problem. He has talked much more gently about the "dreamers". I'm pretty sure that a reasonably humane solution could be worked out, provided we get enough of the politics out of the situation. That's the hard part ;)

#funny
all images can keep us entertained, like donald trump images in various edits

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63635.72
ETH 2597.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91