You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Meme challenge #35 - Entry #1 - Shakedown

in #memechallenge7 years ago

It's funny and sad at the same time.
To be honest, from my perspective, I don't think it's true she lost her protection. She seems to me like the one who is unprotected all the time!

Well, I kinda imagining the story behind. (Your good photo gives me that possibility.)
According to how the word 'Police' is written on the back side of the shirt of the lady policeman, I would say the photo is taken in Croatia (Policija on Croatian means police). As well the word "Bobis" written on the store sun shield (at top left corner of the photo) tells me the photo must be taken somewhere in Dalmatia (south coastal region of Croatia) where are lots of "Bobis" stores. Although Bobis has its stores in other parts of Croatia they are most dense in Dalmatia. Oh my God, how I love Bobis products, especially some sweets.

Also, the building in front which the photo is taken is a stone house. The street is as well paved with stone. However and although such combination might be seen in other mostly coastal parts of Croatia, same as in some other Mediterranean countries, I would still put my bets on Dalmatia.

Being myself from Croatia, I would say the following thing happen to this old poor lady.
She probably picked some vegetables from her garden and brought them there (in some more crowded street or square) to sell it and earn some extra buck. As selling on the street (without special allowance of the local authorities) it's not allowed, some market inspector (the guy in civilian clothing on the photo), accompanied by those two policemen came across her improvised booth and write her a penalty ticket.

And there are two sad things about it.
As first, avoiding to pay the ticket for e.g. an open market where she would somewhat be able to sell her vegetables, as the cost of such ticket apparently seemed too high for her. the way around she found very likely cost here several times more.
Second but much greater sadness is that such market inspectors even bother to waste their time performing some sort of power, or just so-called order and discipline against the poorest in the community as I think she might be, while at the same time many big players, to whom the same inspector probably wouldn't even dare to approach even less write some penalty ticket are all around doing whatever they want.

That's how I see this photo!

Sort:  

Your publications are really beautiful I've checked most of them and found them amazing you're really worth it all thanks for sharing
I hope to be like you in the future I work with all my efforts and perfection of God

Thank you very much, @faissalchahid for your kind words! 😊

😍😍😍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54604.00
ETH 2294.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34