Meme Analysis: Gru Meme

in #meme7 years ago

I'm back at it again with another Meme Analysis, which has been long overdue after constantly pushing it back like the release date for No Man's Sky. Unlike that game however, this won't be a disappointment.

Today we will be looking at the Gru meme. The first one I will be showing is one I made in honor of my incredibly dank-ass profile:

The meme template is taken from the movie "Despicable Me" from 2010. The situation is that Gru is presenting his evil plans in order to make a loan from a bank who exclusively gives loans to "villains", only to find his last panel is covered in doodles by three girls who he adopted .

Now there are two points I want to make regarding this meme.

  1. Its times like these that make me wonder who the hell comes up with memes, or more specifically, who watched this 8-year old movie and thought of this insignificant scene and thought "hmm, my neck beard is tingling. This could be a great meme". I feel like there are people out there who literally watch well known movies in search of potential meme material. Maybe if I am ever that desperate for this blog to get big I'll live stream me doing that shit. It'll either be funny as hell or cringey as fuck.

  2. Isn't this meme just another version of this meme?

Or this?

... Or this?

And now we have this?

Well I guess it is a little different, but here, I made my own version of all these memes, feel free to use the template:


Anyways, here is another example of this meme along with the template for it:

Overall, its a pretty dank meme. But it's getting kinda overused, so I am afraid it might also fall into the dreaded "normie" category like the Ugandan Knuckles meme did back in February.

Thanks for reading this stupid fucking blog. If you liked what you see, like and subscribe. If not, don't, but you will be missing out on a lot of great content, cause I don't just spam random memes, I write full on articles regarding memes. Every meme on my channel is either original or used with permission from the original poster I got on a meme app for my articles (yeah, I fucking ask people on a meme app to use their meme on my articles, you can only imagine their reactions). Here's a generic picture link to my channel:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65811.45
ETH 2675.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88