"Illegal"

in #meme6 years ago (edited)

Appeal to legality is just another perverse example of argumentum ad verecundiam using the arbitrary dictates of usurpatious politicians as if they were a substitute for reason. Slavery was "legal," and the Underground Railroad was "illegal." Jim Crow was "legal." Every injustice under every tyrannical regime around the world and throughout history has been declared "legal" by those regimes. Legality is ever-shifting, and non-crimes are declared "illegal" at the whim of the self-appointed political elites. Find a higher standard.

legality meme.png

I made this image macro ("meme") using this CC0-licensed image and a rebuttal I am tired of typing every time someone responds to a reasoned argument by citing the legal system. If you find value in it, feel free to download it and share it as you see fit.

Sort:  

I can't break the law. I can only break a contract, and since I didn't sign the law, I can't break faith with it.

And while you can violate the life, liberty, or property of another individual, this is a crime regardless of "legality," and the legal system violates the very rights it claims we need it to protect.

This is honestly the BEST POST I've seen today! Thanks for this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67144.34
ETH 3517.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69