Sort:  

Yeah, it's not very cut and dry. On the one hand, as i mentioned, i am strongly anti-IP. On the other hand, having your "credit' stolen isn't a great feeling, either. That's why i originally started "watermarking' my memes. It wasn't that I "needed" the credit, but some other mememakers and i were just a bit perturbed that other FB pages were taking our memes and presenting them as their own. We knew that we couldn't stop them from doing so, nor, as anarchists, were we really keen on trying to stop them. Putting the watermark/logo on the memes was jut the best we could come up with. That way, at least, others would know the source.

That being said, I am largely with you on this. A meme is just an idea put into picture form. Once you release that meme into the world, someone else can figure out how to improve upon it. As a mememaker, that process has actually helped me improve. If i put something out and then someone else makes it better, it just drives me to try harder next time. But, unfortunately, some folks are just more wedded to "their" ideas than others.

I have been wondering if there might be a blockchain solution to this. I am wondering if there is a way to validate, similar to a checksum, that can then be signed and registered as original. Then maybe even signal a % deviation from a signed original. Now, I can already see a ton of ways to game this system, but I'm a simpleton. I keep wondering if there is something along those lines that could be developed which could be used here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57367.79
ETH 3098.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32