When your PC dies...

in #meme6 years ago (edited)

meme.jpg

Last Friday my PC died, right when there was a lot going on I needed to get done. I spent all weekend trying to get something working and in the end I foraged parts from another old PC to get a stable system.

I wanted to let everyone know I was out of action so I made this crude meme on my iPad. I am still dirty about the whole "Windows-As-A-Service" bullshit that Microsoft are pulling with Windows 10. I will never forgive them for the Windows 8.1 forced upgrade that broke all my apps in the middle of a busy work day.

One day I will fully migrate to Linux or something, but for now I'm staying on Windows 7.

Sort:  

You get a Mac? And don't look back?

My business partner and I started out with Windows machines back in 2000, but then we converted the production computers to Apple and Mac products and haven't had a problem since.

Oh, you're just being funny...

Sorry. :)

If only it were that simple. I'd have to run a windows emulator to get some of my apps working and I'd imagine performance would be an issue.

I'd prefer to go Linux at this point.

Actually, there's one that is pretty good. It boots up separately. I've had it on my machine but I can't remember what it's called now. But it sits on OSX but doesn't run in it, if that makes since. It's like your running Windows. If I can figure out where I put it, I'll let you know. I needed it for some classes when I went back to school a couple of years ago.

I thought you were kidding. :)

Hey, Linux in a few flavors is pretty good. I'm not sure how robust the third party apps are, since it's been years since I last used Ubuntu, but I'd pick Linux over Windows, too, if I didn't already have OSX. :)

lol shitty windows 10 actually it has not been to bad lately and I love the fact I can run 2 Intel i9s as windows 10 supports it. nothing like 36 cores and 72 threads!

Haha very funny.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02