You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: An Existential Twist of the NPC MEME: The Fine Line Between Auto-Pilot and Cruise Control

in #meme6 years ago

This made me instantly think of this:
https://xkcd.com/610/

It's kind of a masterpiece. Most of us do live a really boring life in the end, but we're happy in it. We might be thinking big and doing special things when only a few people see us, but the majority might see us as boring people who aren't special and aren't thinking very deep either.

But now to the being the NPC. It's really good if someone doesn't need to take stress about being something. Not everyone needs to be the hero of the world and that's usually enough to be a NPC for most.

It's a very fine line. I would be terrified if I would need to constantly focus on everything. Riding the bicycle home with constant focus on everything. "Ok now push down with left foot.. right foot.. left fooot... right foot... left foot..."

Would that be the ultimate level of not being an NPC?

If you know someone who is an NPC, let me go in their house, dig through their stuff, take their money and potions, throw their chickens in the yard and then run away.

Sort:  

Its impossible to pay attention to everything at the same time :( our flawedness makes me think we might all be NPCs where our NPC thought processes include not being NPCs.

Posted using Partiko Android

To be honest, I'm actually believing nobody is a NPC.

Deep inside, I'm a boring person like that.

I remember seeing that comic a while back—accurately describes my attitude towards being an NPC c:

I agree, we can't be exciting to everyone all of the time, I've been able to appreciate simplicity more as of lately. A person can do much more than get by, turning that autopilot on as a default mode. I think I would lose it if I had to ride a bike that way too xDD

But it does happen. Especially in things like public speaking and other performances, overthinking every step can be stressful, but incredibly beneficial at times.

Wait. Wouldn't the chickens already be in the yard already? Surely an NPCs programming wouldn't allow them to just keep chickens indoors lmao

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67946.39
ETH 3824.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77