Rockman 4 - Complete Works Versus PSOne Books Release Variant Differences (PlayStation, Japanese Imports)

in #megaman6 years ago

20180830_150402.jpg

So I have two different copies of Rockman 4 Complete Works for the Japanese PS1 and I thought I'd make a little STEEM post describing this obscure title and its variants. Perhaps I'll make a video some time.

So, for those of you that don't know, Rockman 1-6 were released on the PS1 in Japan under the umbrella of "Rockman Complete Works" and featured multiple additions, especially in 4-6 where they feature entirely new soundtracks and NG+ abilities.

I like collecting, and I LOVE variants, so let's look at the two variants I have of this game. For those that also do not know, "PSOne Books" was a Japanese Greatest Hits re-release moniker where they used really cheap and thin jewel cases with a bunch of stuff cut out for cutting costs.

20180830_150322.jpg

As you can see the spine is colored in with art and the front cover is full art in the original release, and it's wrapped in a circle in the PSOne Books release. The colors are a bit faded in the PSOne Books release, but it may be from storage light damage, so I won't count that.

20180830_150424.jpg

Here are the backs, as you can see the PSOne Books release literally has no back art, that's where they cut the jewel case thickness, pretty much.

20180830_150706.jpg

Here you can see the spines, one is labeled, the PSOne Books release is not. Pretty crappy if you ask me!

So let's open them up and see what we have here:

20180830_150446.jpg

As you can see the back of the PSOne Books release is re-arranged artwork from the back of the original release, and the back of the original is some really nice artwork of Dr. Cossack.

20180830_150530.jpg 20180830_150627.jpg

The PSOne Books release also comes with an extra and weird flappy insert that has a bunch of useless information on it and a mirror of the cover.

20180830_150615.jpg

As you can see here, the Cossack art is inside the manual of the PSOne Books release and pretty much just swapped around with some info screens that I can't read. Why they decided to reprint and re-arrange the manuals instead of just using the originals and having the meme sleeve for additional info/alternate cover is beyond me.

20180830_150818.jpg

Also, if you didn't notice before, the discs are bit different. The Rockman 4 text on the PSOne Books release is filled in with the silvery gray and the original is cleared. Very odd decision, not sure why they wouldn't just use the original printings, but hey! It's fun extra variant stuff.

Anyways, I have a few other neat Japanese variant stuff, and want to build a full set of PSOne Book releases for the Rockman Complete Works series, but I only have 2 and 4 for the time being I think. I thought it'd be fun to make this kind of review and showcase, let me know if you want another, because I have many!

Sort:  

I was in Japan when I was about 16.
Games were crazy cheap, and it was back when we only had 2 hypes of Pokémon games on gameboy. In Japan they has already released a few more, although they were in Japanese.
I also bought a few games that hadn't been released in Australia yet, only to learn about PAL/NTSC when arriving back home....

Haha that's awesome! Yeah region differences are fun, I have like 6 different consoles to play everything hehe

Posted using Partiko Android

Damn... That's commitment, nice!
Must be alot of fun being able to bounce from console to console though, you must have tons of games☺️

Hehe I do!! Can make more collection posts if you'd like

Posted using Partiko Android

I wonder if the Rockman 4 logo on the re-release being filled in is because that's just the regular CD silver, and they didn't print on top of it

It's possible, but it would be pretty weird and I doubt it'd save much money to change the printing schematic or w/e but who knows

It seems so bizarre to have a real game released in a thin, demo-disc style case. The PSOne Book version seems pretty lame all round, however, I still think it looks nicer than the disgusting PAL 'Platinum Range' we got over here.

At least those came in a real, classic PAL thick case though! Very cool post, would love to see some more of these!

I have a few other variant stuffs, so I'll probably work on some later on!

Do all of the Rockman Complete Works allow for weapon switching with the triggers? Thanks for posting this =D

Yes they do! I can do some posts about CW as a whole if you'd like.

The more I find out about Mega Man Complete Works the more it sounds like the definitive version of the original six games. I can't believe they left this feature out of the Legacy Collection-- it would have made trials and speedrunning much cooler. Yeah I'd like to hear your take on the series as a whole.

CW is definitely definitive for 1-6, I'll get something done when I can :D

PS can you glitch warp on the complete works?

fuckin gooooooooooood shit!!!!!

@cyberdemon531 You have received a 100% upvote from @steemguard because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95