Announcing the First Minneapolis Steemit Meetup

in #meetup8 years ago

Steemit already has a strong presence in the Twin Cities and surrounding area. And since winter is coming, there will soon be a ton of people here looking for new and exciting ways to avoid going outside. So the time is right for the first local meetup.


It is scheduled for the evening of Monday, Sept. 26 at my place. We've held various arts/music/community events at this location - @greatdabu has been doing this since the '80's - and can easily accommodate a couple dozen people. If you are in the area and would like to attend, please send me a private rocketchat message with your email or phone and I will get directions to you.

Here is a link to the meetup group page. (meetup.com appended the url with "/Minneapolis-Innovation-Meetup" instead of "/Minneapolis-Steemit-Meetup" for reasons I don't understand. If you know how to fix this, please let me know in a comment: )


The Plan:

This is a meetup for steemit users or those interested in joining our social media revolution. It is a chance to learn more about how steemit and the steem cryptocurrency token functions, share information on how to produce great content on steemit, speculate on the future of this amazing technology, and explore opportunities for steemit collaborations in Minneapolis and the surrounding area.

What to Expect:

Coffee, snacks, and good conversations with a diverse group of creative people.

Skill sharing - from basic html for post formatting to securely integrating cryptocurrency into everyday life here in Minnesota.

Brainstorming on how best to do larger steemit events/marketing in the Twin Cities over the next few months.

What to Bring:

Yourself, your friends, any food/beverages you would like to share, and anything else you would like to contribute. (Please note that this is a drug and alcohol free event.)


Given the short notice, I anticipate fewer than twenty people will show up. In the unlikely event that more than 35 people want to attend, this meetup will be moved to a larger nearby location.


See you soon!!!

Sort:  

Huge. Reblogged and tweeted!!!!

Bummer that it's on a Monday otherwise I would join. If you do one in the future on a Saturday evening or something I would defiantly love to come mingle.

This is just the first of what I hope will be many local events. We'll likely do something quite a bit more flashy in October on a weekend. Hope to see you then!

What time is the event?

6pm-10pm. My guess is that most folks will show up between 7 and 8 - and a few may stay late if we get into some really interesting conversation.

I would love to join y'all @timcliff just shared this with me. Unfortunately I'm busy this upcoming Monday but with a few weeks notice I can certainly make it to the next one.

Right on. Be great to see you at the next event!

@mada just joining the Meetup app and RSVP'ed. Look like me, @moony and @swarddraws will be coming.

Awesome. Four others have told me they're coming, too - but I'll leave it to them to publicly signal their rsvp.

Hey Mada! (Mark?)

I'm planning on coming all the way from Chicago to attend! Will you be sending out the address as we get closer? I cannot seem to find it. I obviously understand you not wanting to put it up here since it seems to be at your residence.

Let me know if you need any help preparing would like me to bring anything with! Looking forward to it :)

Really? That's a helluva drive for a meetup - but it should make for quite an adventure!

I do plan to send out the address to those who rsvp'd via meetup.com and to anyone who sends me an email/phone number via direct message on steemit chat. You can also send me an email at [email protected] which includes your phone/email, and I will be sure to send you the address as well.

Here is a nearby corner for you to use in planning your road trip.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59209.84
ETH 2659.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43