STEEMIANS IN CHIANG MAI? MAYBE WE SHOULD ALL MEET UP...

in #meetup6 years ago (edited)

One thing I've noticed while perusing through many travel posts is a lot of people on Steemit either live in or are based in Chiang Mai. I was recommended to Steemit by a guy who lives in Chiang Mai as well. So I thought it could be interesting if we could all arrange a day/evening where we all meet up somewhere in the city and meet up.

26814779_1812277362140129_8951649793422685728_n.jpg

People who I know who are on this platform and are currently in Chiang Mai:

@kenistyles @iamjamie @tonymilton @artemislives @luzcypher

That's off the top of my head. I know there are dozens of others who I haven't actually physically met yet. Who's interested? Please interact and comment below. I'd love to be able to meet all of you rather than just talk to a computer...

Sort:  

Hello folks,

Ok so it took me a couple days to get round to putting my mind to this and see what I could come up with. It's awesome to see all this conversation and the familiar names above in town for a steem up! 👍

I'd like to offer a third option for Saturday. My friends are hosting a pre-launch party for their new hostel on the south side of moat, just by Chiang Mai gate. It's going to be a casual social, nothing crazy but they will have about 30 gallons of various craft beers to sample.. on draft too mind you lol. 🍻

There will be live music and some games, though no obligation to participate. We'll have plenty of chance to chin wag about all things steemit and crypto I'll just maybe have to butterfly around a bit that's all. It is a invite only event, though not a problem for me to have a few plus ones as guests.

You are all technically bloggers so they'll most probably treat you all like farangatang royalty anyway. Especially if any of you are willing to write about them or give them a google review in return for the free beers lol! 🙏

So that's my contribution to throw on the table. Jamie, Kai and I are open to join in the other dates also as we enjoy all the other venues mentioned. Though if you would like to come along (and anyone else reading this lol) drop your names in comments below. 👇

I'm gonna resteem, tag and ping your gina's as well as anyone else I can think of in the city to help get the word out! ✌️

Cheers,
Keni

@lewisjfclarke @luzcypher @artemislives @nabithecat @eco-alex @rainbowrachel @yinyangmichael @ricko66 @billy-thai @lifeisgood7 @bkkshadow @thaiteam 🇹🇭

That sounds like a cracking idea! That way it is social but not too intense. And at the same time it is something new for everyone to enjoy. I need to check if I'm free on Saturday but if I am then I'm in!

I'm still up for the Sunday Miguel's as well if anyone wants to demolish some fajitas and talk about how great Watford are doing. Two nil against Wolves on Saturday, we smashed them...

What's the name of the hostel and what time are you meeting? Can you post a Google Maps link?

Just seen this. There was a link in one of my later posts but I'm assuming you didn't see it (Steemit can be very frustrating in that aspect, in the sense that unless someone directly replies to you then there's a strong possibility you won't see an update...) but we're still doing the Miguel's schizzle tomorrow (Sunday) at 7.

Third time lucky as they say...

Cool. I am at Miguel's right now wearing a Pink Floyd tee-shirt.

I'll be there for Saturday and Sunday. Thanks for the invite.

What's the name of the hostel and what time are you meeting? Can you post a Google Maps link?

Haha you're so laaw mak mak! So @artemislives was literally just talking about this the other day in the smg discord (that thing you haven't joined yet) and looks like a meet up will be happening soon!

You know me haha I have to break your balls a little, if you want in I'd suggest getting your social ass in there and arrange away! 👍

If you don't break my balls then I have to question whether you are English or not!

I know I'm missing out on a load of interaction/upvotes/etc... by not being part of the discord, but unfortunately I'm not very computer literate, so I have to accept that I can't get that kind of interaction until I understand it or feel comfortable with it. No hate, it's my issue that I have to comprehend and overcome...

Anyway I digress. The fact is we all want the same thing; to meet up and talk about pointless things, so lets do it! Does anyone have any ideas? I'm open to ideas. If not we can always meet at a random bar, have a few drinks and feel comfortable around each other. If not, we can meet at a restaurant? I know numerous people on here are vegans, so we can meet at a decent vegan restaurant like Aum's and go from there? Let me know, and possibly give me chocolate...

Shit this does not fit in my travelling schedule or I would be innnn ;)))

I'm sure you'll be about one day, then we can give you a tour around Chiang Mai so you can see it like a proper local!

💯 Me too, LOL! 😍

Posted using Partiko iOS

I'm down with meeting up. Going to Bangkok on the 1st of November and then to Steemfest. I can meet with any of you before that and after I return.

In that case we'd better try and meet up before the end of October. How about Miguel's? That's a pretty decent Mexican restaurant that caters for both meat eaters and vegans. Just let me know when is best for you all and I'm sure we can arrange something :-)

Anytime before the 1st of November. Let me know.

I'll keep everyone posted in the comments section

We also have @nabithecat (my daughter) and @eco-alex who flew in today. Yay. How about this coming Friday evening? @rainbowrachel and michael are also up in Pai - not sure if they will be down in the big smoke? Sounds like a great plan, @lewisfjclarke 'Bout time you joined us in the discord, no??? :)

Sunday at Miguel's sounds good.

Perfect! What time works for you? I was thinking about 7ish. Not too early but not too late either

That sound like a good time

OK mate, so just to let you know there's one meet up on Saturday and the Miguel's one is on Sunday at 7. I thought I'd reply to you on here just in case you hadn't seen the latest post

I'll be there for Saturday and Sunday. Thanks for the invite

At the moment I'm working Friday evenings. I mean I finish at 8 so I could always meet after. But I know Keni and Jamie are early eaters so that might not work.

Could do next Sunday? At the moment I'm free all day. That will also be the 28th so that means @luzcypher can join us.

Sunday at Miguel's sounds good.

I would say "not sure". Sunday night for solo moms never great and not a big fan of Miguels. Why not have x2 meet ups? Early Friday 6pm at AUM vegetarian - maybe @kenistyles, @Iamjamie, @eco-alex, @nabithecat, @artemislives and anyone else. And you guys can also do Sunday night at Miguels. Why not support Yao and her FABULOUS veggie-vegan mexican Ole's? They've just moved out of their Tapae location to Singharat Soi 3. Yao is the bomb for conscious eating and stunning foodie level cuisine. Let me know what you think, @lewisfjclarke ?

I can meet you at AUM vegetarian on Friday too.

@luzcypher Cool! 6pm at AUM is on. We'll have a bigger table upstairs. Look fwd to meet you! I think we'll be 6 - me, @nabithecat, @iamjamie, @kenistyles, @eco-alex and you. Nice. :)

6 PM at the AUM today, Friday? I'll see you there.

Friday was yesterday. We missed you - had fun and some good steemfamily connecting anyway.

OOPS! Got my days mixed up. Looks like another meetup tonight at a new hostel by the south gate. See the comment above. He didn't say the name of the hostel or what time but I'm going to go look for it.

I'm going to have to say no for Friday, because as I mentioned earlier I'm working Friday evenings. But you guys can meet up on Friday if you fancy?

Sorry I forgot about that. Feeling too hard right now. I wanna sit down with Keni and Eco-Alex and Miguels doesn't quite cut it food wise, vibe wise nor time wise on a Sunday night. You're calling this one together - we're here all the time. Maybe there's a third option??

Well I posted my latest post before seeing your reply, but I'm always open to suggestions. I only wanted to set Miguel's in stone because I know @luzcypher is leaving on the 1st and he was the one who gave me the idea in the first place.

However I'm open to change. There's no point doing a meet up if no one can make it or no one likes the place we are meeting up at. We can do Aum's, but it would have to be another day. We could even do Aum's on Sunday instead, and if people really fancy destroying some Mexican food we can do that as well some other time if that works?

Since I'm a full-time Steemian my schedule is flexible and can make any of those meetups. Friday, Saturday, Sunday. wherever at whatever time.

I'm not sure if the Friday one is still happening (@kenistyles and @artemislives would know if that that one is still on) but I will definitely see you on Saturday and Sunday

  • edit, just seen the comment above...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62869.05
ETH 2545.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72