Second Cebu Writer's Guild Meet-up| Newcomer's Experience

in #meetup6 years ago

Hi Everyone!

Last Sunday (20th of May) I did joined the 2nd session of Cebu Writer's Guild. By the way, Cebu Writer's Guild is being led and facilitated by @ybanezkim26 , wherein he aims to help Cebuano Steemians to have a better write-ups with better presentations. Actually this initiative started last 14th of May, that was Saturday, many attended and as for me, I wasn't able to attend for I was having my last medical check-up that time and I was told by my family doctor that I need to get some rest. Moving back to last Sunday's 2nd Cebu Writer's Guild meetup, it was @liamnov who offered to have the session be held in her house and I have to be honest I am not confirmed as an attendee for the said session since I was still deciding whether to go or not to go. Thankfully I managed to convince myself last Sunday that I needed to attend this session, this is something beneficial and I know I'd be able to learn new things especially in improving my write-ups since as of now , I consider myself to be WIP (Work In Progress). So on that day also I asked them where is the place of initial meeting place so that when we were substantial in attendance we will proceed to her hideout and thankfully their residence is just near the Ayala Center Cebu which is just around a few kilometer of walking.

When we reach to the house of @liamnov, we were so amazed that she made a simple and a very meaningful design more like of those found in stages, wherein she made an art for "Steemit 2nd CEBU WRITER'S GUILD" and when both @morken and @smaeunabs found their way to the venue of the session, I volunteered to take a photo of the attendees of the gathering near the improvised background wherein the designs made by @liamnov are placed.

DSCF3271.JPG

Starting from the left to right; @morken, @thian2817, @indayclara, @christianyocte, @steembytes, at the back of @steembytes is the host @liamnov, next to @steembytes is @ryancalaunan, at the back of @ryancalaunan is @carlitojoshua, next to @ryancalaunan is Miss @smaeunabs, next to Sheila is the founder of Cebu Writer's Guild and the overall head of Steem Summit, our very own @ybanezkim26.

Photo Credits to @indayclara.

When we were all seated, @morken started discussing on how to effectively promote Steemit platform to newbies wherein he elaborated his styles and @jassennessaj's way of conveying the good news about Steemit to future Steemians. I was inspired to here their ways of promoting Steem and I challenged myself that I need to a set a goal of promoting Steemit especially to the community I am staying right now. After he was done presenting about promotion of Steemit platform, he proceeded on to discuss on something that is something related to goals. As for me, I did set a goal wherein I am taking on against myself since I am losing lots of my precious time doing things that are not important and I'm procrastinating, actually I did managed to subdue this struggle of time back when I was still a fifth year mechanical engineering student wherein I always consider my day that as real complete and very productive. And to my surprise, the goal being which @morken had instructed is all about monetary goals wherein he told us how to achieve it, what is your strategy in achieving it with the aid of Steemit platform and time frame for the goal to be achieved. I was to blamed on that one, since I was silent that time and thinking deep on how am I going to achieved those best days of my life, wherein I am productive and very efficient. And though, I am late on setting that monetary goal, I was able to make a somewhat short term goal of which I can't divulge that goal at this moment of time and I'm very sorry for that.

After @morken's presentation, @ybanezkim26 took the lead and shared the modules he had prepared for each one of us that time. I was so grateful to know about the different styles of writing which are as follows: expository writing, descriptive writing, persuasive writing and lastly, narrative writing. Kim asked some questions to each one of us, and as far as I can remember, I did mention this thoughts "My intention of attending the CWG (Cebu Writer's Guild) is to help myself find my forte and establish self-confidence in unleashing my unspoken thoughts and hidden learnings that I 've learned all throughout my life. I need it since I want to avoid conflicts." I was so grateful also to our facilitator because he did mentioned about SteemSTEM and he shared his thoughts especially about these important terms Public Domain and Creative Commons.

After Kim, was @indayclara's presentation about the upcoming "The AWESOME SMILE PROJECT" of which I chose to post in a separate blog.

DSCF3352.JPG

Special thanks to @ybanezkim26 for sponsoring the "puto flan". Hopefully there will be another treat like this one, the "puto flan" was very delicious.

Photo credits to @indayclara.

Lastly, special thanks Maam @liamnov for hosting the event in her house and at the same time for preparing a simple treat to us which is "Bam-i".

I guess that would be all for my experience joining the 2nd session of Cebu Writer's Guild.

Thank you for spending your precious time reading this blog of mine.

Much love and respect.

Ace | @josephace135

Sort:  

Kasan. Wa lage imong nawng? Hahaha

Dalia sad nimo mangita sa akong nawng oy @smaeunabs. jk
Akoy manininiyot ana timea man :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63178.17
ETH 2581.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71