US Bound. Tickets booked!

in #meetup6 years ago

usa-bound.png
Source

Can you tell I am somewhat excited? Yesterday I wrote about a hastily arranged Writers' Block meetup happening in a little over four weeks' time in Gatlinburg, Tennessee. Not only a chance to meet some of our awesome members but also to plan and set forth the next stage of our community.

@rhondak researched cabins on Airbnb and has secured us a charming property that sleeps 8 comfortably, more at a push.

Flights from the UK to Knoxville cost in the region of £950 - $1300. With such a hastily arranged trip I secured a loan of Steem from the awesome bank of @Neoxian yesterday and we set up a schedule for repayment. Much appreciated @Neoxian.

Having received confirmation of dates earlier from @rhondak, I exchanged the Steem to LTC via @blocktrades and waited patiently for the funds to be loaded onto my Wirex card before booking my flights.

2999645dcf593212ac60852a15cde283ce4c8471609d0d4d7b87e88b6e0c7e92_3913624.jpg
Source

Travel from my local airport, Birmingham, is never straightforward and usually involves several stops along the way. My itinerary is as follows:

Capture.PNG

I shall catch the train from my local station to Birmingham Airport early on June 20th.

monon_800_rcl_690.jpg
Source

My first flight is a brief hop over the Irish Sea to Dublin. After a 3 1/2 hour wait I will board a flight to Washington Dulles. 1 hr 25 minutes later I will board the Knoville flight, arriving at roughly 7pm.

@rhondak and her husband Scott will meet me at the airport, we shall travel to a local motel to drop my things off and we will no doubt go and dine somewhere. Check in at the cabin isn't due until the next afternoon.

After a long weekend of meeting, friendship cementing, future planning, some drinking no doubt, visiting local areas, chatting, more drinking etc we leave the cabin on the 24th. I will return to the motel in Knoxville to spend the night before boarding my first flight back to the UK.

I have always wanted to visit The States and I am assured by Rhonda that I will get a genuine slice of real Americana. I cannot wait!


Are you a writer or keen to learn? Do you wish to join a community of like-minded individuals who can help hone your writing skills in the fields of fiction, non-fiction, technical, poetry, or songwriting? Join us at The Writers' Block by clicking the logo below.

Sort:  

dang @gmuxx .. you making me wish it was doable for me to come. But it's not .. hopefully we can connect electronically with those at the meetup.

It would have been nice to do Toronto too but alas, not this time.

I'm totally jealous and sad I'll miss you, but super happy that you're coming to Tennessee to meet up with amazing writers! 100% upvote... to chip in towards the travel expenses. Hoping people will be so kind when I'm trying to fundraise for a flight to Atlanta in August. May the stars align so I can come out and play with some of my favourite Steemians again! Sorry, didn't mean to make this about me. Just riding the excitement. Meetups are so much fun!!!

Sorry you can't make it. Really looking forward to it. Thanks for the support.

You'll be there in spirit 🤗🦋

This is going to be such an awesome trip! I can't wait to meet everyone! Except Rose.... cause, I already know her and whatnot lol.

I know, I don't even mind meeting @negativer

bahahaha! I think it would be wise to have some contingency plans in place for when he arrives.... know the escape routes and such. ^_^

Clever thinking. Let's make it so

I can't wait!!! It's going to be so awesome to meet you in person!

Wicked awesome, I look forward to meeting you buddy!

I'm so excited I can't stand it!!!

I hope you realise you will get many many Muxxy hugs...

I hope so!!! According to @enginewitty, I'm a bit "hugglesome," so that should work out fine. LOLOL!

Oi you are hugglesome!

Hugglesome:
Someone that has a huggable presence and gives really good caring hugs. 🤗🤗🤗

I can go along with that definition. :-)

I am sooooo glad you'll be able to drop in with us in Gburg in June. Wouldn't be the same without you.

My oldest step daughter lives in Knoxville so we go up there about once a month. Not specifically to Gburg/Pigeon Forge, but close enough 😎so be a treat to see who shows up 🤗😎

I am soo excited..
i think, you can't stand there..you realise you will get some hugs...
thanks for shearing..
i enjoy it..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59476.67
ETH 2299.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48