Portland OR Steemit Meet-Up 2018

in #meetup6 years ago

Yesterday on Saturday Feb 24th, There was a steemit meet-up in Portland OR. I believe this is the first one in our area or at least the first one that I have attended. We met at a local pub called the HUB bike bar. After all, It wouldn't be Portland if some beer wasn't involved. It was great so be able to talk to other steemians in person and get to know them on a new level.

20180224_154653.jpg

In attendance were @natureofbeing who organised the event as well as @alexbeyman, @ganjafarmer, @amandarichards, @fronttowardenemy, @greyhawk, @skunkybum, @nickh725, @ddschteinn, @haphazard-hstead, and myself.

simple flourish.jpg

@haphazard-hstead brought an awesome treat of Ginko pods to share from her homestead. I'm going to have to try and cook these things up. I can't say I have ever tried a ginko pod before. But I will try most things once. :)

20180225_125007.jpg

There were many great discussions about our different journeys on steemit and what the future may hold. I'm looking forward to doing a more in depth interview with @alexbeyman as well as teaming up with @nickh725 to help the homeless in this area using steem. Many opportunities presented themselves today and I for one am just happy that I can be a part of it.

simple flourish.jpg

When I think about my journey on steemit, I thought about how I have changed since I first started. I've learned a ton about crypto currencies to say the least.(still learning).. I've made new friends around the world and been inspired by the positivity so many people on steemit share with one another. I've always been a pretty positive person but I feel like I have changed for the better in this aspect since joining steemit.

I asked @natureogbeing the same question and here is her very thoughtful answer.

Video by @fronttowardenemy

This meet-up was more of a casual meet and greet type event. It was less about education and more about interaction. I felt honored to be a part of it and am looking forward to the next one.
Thank you to all who came. It was great to meet you in person and a special Thank you to @haphazard-hstead and @ddschteinn for driving two hours to be there.

There is definitely something to be said about getting out from behind the screen and meeting wonderful steemians in person.

Keep being Cool Steemit!


doctorcrypto.gif

Sort:  

Have a homeless friend Im trying to get on here. And great meeting next time we can have more room to socialize.

I think next time there will be quite a few more people so we will need it! :)

Totally agree! Let me know when you get some time to smoke out!

You on https://steem.chat or discord or something private?

Discord same name...

Hi @doctorcrypto! So great to meet you, your brother and son and thanks again for your overall great attitude and friendliness, you really made this event feel more cohesive and enjoyable for everyone.

Nice video too, fun to talk with you about what we're doing on steemit, it was a good idea to do this and in retrospect it might have been nice to have short segments with everyone but maybe next time.

See you in the hood soon I'm sure :-))

Thank you! I had a blast.
I was actually thinking about doing short video segments..For sure next time.
Thank you for arranging it!

ps. I realized that you aren't in any of the photos!! Glad you're in the video so people can see you too

It's so cool to get to meet all these different Steemians!

It was great to meet you all. It really drives home that we are all people behind our avatar and username. It was sure easy to talk with everyone. If anyone is wondering whether to go to their own local meetup, don't hesitate!

I hope you enjoy those Ginkgo nuts! Be sure to cook them. There's nothing else quite like them.

Was great to meet you and I am looking forward to giving those Ginko nuts a try. Most certainly!

Nicely done mate, these in person meetups are really growing.

Disappointed I missed you guys last weekend, if you are doing one again in the future let me know!

I'd love to hang out! Gonna do a Steemit van!

Sweet! Nice I already follow you!

To me Steemit is connection with the local community and the world one...

I’m usually in NE Portland or Gladstone!

Well let's meet up and do a post together! Dog loves meeting people who need to throw his ball.

Count me in. Where’s your general location? Zeus looks sweet, I’m a big German Shepherd fan.

Beaverton to Gresham. I'm all over!

But of course! I shall pass the word. :)

Awesome interview. I love steemit because of stuff like this. I makes a real impact on people every single time. Once you guys started smiling, I was thinking, "Oh man, I bet 5 steem he's going to get a hug from her."

I could have been there, but I kept getting cold feet.

Nice to hear you went out of your way to be real with each person individually. Steemit helps me over-come many obstacles, and some insecurities I never knew were holding me back.

Ah you should have come! :)
There is always next time. Hopefully sooner than later.

Following. And as soon as it gets nice I'll be down at waterfront more... We should meet up. And yeah the meeting was pretty chaotic. Going to need more room and a banner. These are going to get big!

But yeah I was a bit worried at the chaos but already posted.

Me and dog hid out back for a bit.

I love that this ecosystem encourages people to get together IRL great rollup for a first Steemup.

Very true! Pretty cool indeed :)

Meet ups are helping the growth of Steemit and steem block chain thus, making Steemit a unique decentralized social media.

@natureofbeing what a beautiful arrangement and kudos to all others who made it realistically possible in persons of: @doctorcypto, @alexbeyman, @ganjafarmer, @amandarichards, @fronttowardenemy, @greyhawk, @skunkybum, @nickh725, @ddschteinn, @haphazard-hstead.

Keep being cool on Steemit & Steem on to the Moon...

Big love to all Portland Steemians.
@samal.

Thank you sir! Well wishes to you. :)

It's great for meetings, I hope to have more meetings in the future and one of it will take place in Vietnam.

There are a lot of people in Vietnam using steemit. Check the #vietnam #vn tags.
You will find a meet-up soon.
:)

OK, thank you
I hope the steemit Vietnam community will grow rapidly :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71005.71
ETH 3788.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.47