The Bitcoin Meetup - Journey of an Honest Currency

in #meetup7 years ago (edited)

I'm set to host my third bitcoin/blockchain meetup in my local city in two weeks and I'm more pumped than ever! This time around, a business incubator is providing a venue for our group of about 20 interested and curious folk.

I've pumped out a fun presentation with a general overview of what BTC is, what it isn't, and give them a glimpse into just how deep the rabbit hole is. Our goal is to provide a learning experience for everyone, no matter the knowledge level. The idea is to offer an opportunity for everyone to learn something new and this wicked space is going to allow me to present the concepts in a professional, clear and engaging environment.

My last meetup included showing the crowd my homemade 10GH/s Blade Erupter, passing around a physical Litecoin and a Trezor. We spent the last 30 mins talking about use-cases, interesting projects and answering questions people had (and there were lots!)

I suspect this meeting will be our best yet. There are a handful of university professors attending and the CEO of our local government investment fund. For a little community of about 50k we have a surprisingly growing interest in blockchain, bitcoin and cryptocurrency.

While we do our best to inform and advice people to do their own research we are not openly endorsing nor selling bitcoin. I am however planning on giving some WAVES away to people willing to download the wallet. With that said, I'm willing to use any funds gathered from my posts to sponsor any future meetups. If I get enough support from the STEEM community I'll even start live streaming them :)

I've been able to slowing introduce more people to bitcoin and it's powers, with the help of the local government (indirectly), and I'm super excited for the future. The plan is to offer these meetups on a monthly basis for now while pursuing ways of traveling Nationally spreading the love of all things crypto. Maybe someday I'll make it to your city.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59176.07
ETH 2667.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42