Cebu Writer’s Guild – An Awesome First Session!

in #meet-up6 years ago (edited)

DSCF2837.JPG

Last May 12, 2018, the launching of the Cebu Writer’s Guild was held at Degree 9 Café. This group was initiated by @ybanezkim26 in order for fellow Cebuano Steemians to come together and grow as an individual and as a community in honing our writing skills.

I arrived at around 2:00pm as what was agreed upon. @liamnov and @thian2817 arrived at the crime scene first. They waited outside. Even heard them say they might be in the wrong place because no one was still there. And good thing, @thian2817 knew me by face and immediately talked to me. So I invited them inside the café so we could settle in as we wait for the others to arrive.

We ordered our drinks and had a chat for a while. Then slowly the other attendees arrived. Let’s meet each and one of them. You can give some love by following them as well!

DSCF2841.JPG

@christianyocte and @indayclara

DSCF2844.JPG

@ybanezkim26 and @carlitojoshua

DSCF2851.JPG

@morken and @daisydelta

DSCF2852.JPG

@thian2817 and @liamnov

DSCF2854.JPG

@ryancalaunan and @steembytes

The session started out by introducing ourselves to one another. Everyone were given the chance to voice out our truths and opinions. The following topics were discussed and I will be writing my own thoughts about each one.

WHAT KEEPS ME WRITING?

I am a traveller or backpacker and I love to take photos a lot. And for me, steemit is a platform where I can share my photos and stories without the negative judgment. I hope I can share to others the beauty of the world and open their minds to the wonderful things the world can offer through my photos and stories. Aside from that, I am hoping that in the near future that through Steemit, I can travel and blog full time so that I can fulfil my dreams of going any place in the world!

STEEM ANALYTICS


I just found out about this one! It is a tool or app in checking out one’s progress in our steemit journey. Using this tool, one could check out Steem User’s posting activity like how long have they been active or if they have been gone for a while. Also, I could check out which of the posts have the most number of votes, comments and payouts. This is my own stat using the tool.
analytics.JPG

PLANS FOR ONESELF AND FOR THE COMMUNITY

My goal is to improve my writing skills since this is not an overnight skill you would learn! Writing about my travel stories has so many challenges since this is my first time being a blogger and I have literally no experience ever! So having this guild is such a big help to me and to others who constantly in need of inspiration and knowledge. My plan for the community is to help build a strong camaraderie between fellow Cebuano Steemians by helping out in the near future projects like children feeding or other meet-ups. I wish to be able to help other steemians like me who desires to step up the game in this platform.

DSCF2824.JPG

FORTE AND THE STRUGGLES


Each of us also shared about the struggles, concerns and challenges of our respective themes/forte. I blog mostly about my travel and sometimes for me, it is really hard to make a one sentence about something into a 1 paragraph description since I am a very direct person. I usually write things or convey my messages straight to the point. And I have a clutter brain! There are just a lot of things going through my mind that I always jump from one thing to the other. So currently, I’m practicing to sticking one blog until I finish it before starting another blog.

DSCF2808.JPG

DSCF2817.JPG

DSCF2798.JPG

INSPIRATION


I was inspired by each and one of those who joined the guild. There is something from each of them that I can relate to or have something in common with. But the value that is most common from all of us is COMMITMENT. And that is something that is not easy to give. And just by being present during the first session shows that each of us was willing to learn, step up and give back to the community. And because of this, I am inspired to continue despite the times I am discouraged or the times I am too tired to write something. So thank you guys! Looking forward on seeing you for our next session!

DSCF2828.JPG

Special thanks to @ybanezkim26 for this initiative. I know this will go a long way!

This is @indayclara, an official and proud member of the Cebu Writer’s Guild!
Stay tune, Steem on and Always remember...
indayclara.gif

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted by the communal account, @steemph.cebu by indayclara being run at Teenvestors Cebu (Road to Financial Freedom Channel). This service is exclusive to Steemians following the Steemph.cebu trail at Steemauto. Thank you for following Steemph.cebu curation trail!

Don't forget to join Steem PH Discord Server, our Discord Server for Philippines.

Ayee.... I can see a bright future for our group!

yey I hope I can join next time, mura napud kog naa sa session thru your post.. Thank you for the update.

Hi @orhem.. Next session will be on a sunday! Hope you can join na

same place? @indayclara yey I hope wala mi activity ani...

Venues are changing since we don't have an official place yet. Details for the next session will be posted.

Yay! I am grateful for the response, @indayclara! I learned a lot from all of you. Mapressure na jud ko to make a module for next week. Upvoted and resteemed kay nindot. Haha. See you next week!

Thank you @ybanezkim26! Hopefully ma daghan na ta next session!

You guys look awesome. More power, errr I mean more Steem power!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99