Tutorial | How to import your Steemit articles on Medium

in #medium6 years ago

tutorial import steemit articles to medium.png


Using Medium to promote your Steemit articles


The first time I remember my boyfriend talking about Medium he said that he loves reading articles on their website. And many times during my Steemit-adventure he told me that he wished that I was going to publish my articles on Medium, because of his reading pleasure. Well, we all know that I'm not the kind of person to abandon Steemit, but I thought it was about time to bundle their powers! Let's see if I can promote Steemit a bit while sharing my Steemit articles on Medium.


I was clueless how to use Medium


Although I've been aware of the existence of Medium for quite some time now, I've not used my account until yesterday. I've tried to see how I could share my Steemit articles on Medium before, but it was a big mystery to me how to manage that on their website. For the @oracle-d tasks reviewing Media DApps it was mandatory to share the articles on Medium. As I had no clue how to do so, I asked @daan for advice because I figured he would have the answer for me. And thankfully, he did. Thanks again, your help is very appreciated! Now I will write this tutorial to show others how to share their articles on Medium.


The first step is easy: sign up for a Medium account


It may look a bit stupid to mention this here, but I knew for a long time that I really should make that account, but I always forgot to do so. My advice for all the Steemit authors that think they have something to contribute to promote Steemit/Steem, sign up on Medium, and start sharing your articles! I know there is a monetary system behind Medium also, but as I don't have any experience on how that works yet, I will not go in to that in this tutorial, but it may be good to keep in mind that you can make money there also.


How to share your Steemit article on Medium


When you are on the Medium website, you see your profile picture at the top right of the screen.
Click on it to see a drop down menu, and click on stories.

medium click stories.png

Then you will see this page:

medium import story.png

Click on Import a story to go to the following page:

medium steemit link import.png

Just fill in your Steemit article link in the box and click on import. You will now see this screen:

medium click to see story.png

As you can see, you can edit your story if needed or just add or delete some things before you publish it. I haven't edited any of my articles (so far I've published three of my Steemit articles) because I was happy with the way it looked. You can decide for yourself if the article needs to be edited by clicking on see your story.

medium see your story.png

When you're satisfied, you can click on ready to publish on the top of your screen. You're almost there! Now it's time to add the corresponding tags to your article:

medium add tags before publishing.png

You can use 5 tags for your article, pick them wisely. Then there is a little box that says: "Allow curators to recommend my story to interested readers. **Recommended stories are part of Medium's metered paywall".

As the metered paywall information isn't clear to me, I've used the contact form on the website to get more information. At this moment it's still unclear to me, but I figured that it's best to let them curate my articles and recommend them. Once I find out how the metered paywall system works, I will write another article about that.

Click on publish now, congratulations, you've just published your Steemit article on Medium!
If you want to go to your published stories, just go back to stories and click on published to see them. If you are working on a draft, it will automatically be saved so you can continue working on that when you want to.

medium your story has been published.png


Hopefully you found this tutorial useful, feel free to leave a comment in the comment section!

Sort:  

Thanks for this tutorial! It helped me a lot :)

You're welcome, it's easy once you know what to do :-)

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for this post! Just the other day I was scratching my head on Medium, trying to figure out how it worked. I managed to write a post but importing my posts from Steemit, that would be just awesome!

You're welcome, I figured there were more people that didn't know how to do that, so here you go.. it's easy and done in a heartbeat :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake-chocolate-cake-with-chocolate-cream.png

Curated for helpie by niallon11. Thanks for a great post.

thank you :-)

Posted using Partiko Android

Damn, how did I not know this? I love the Medium Website.

Haha, I wish I had tried this earlier myself too. Should have listened to my boyfriend ages ago, but hey, at least I know now, and so do you! It's really easy once you know how to. Only takes a few minutes max (unless you need to edit something of course). Enjoy!

Great guide, you explained the whole process in detail ;)

Thanks again, your help is very appreciated!

Not a problem at all!

Thanks, also for the resteem!

Posted using Partiko Android

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @sbi-booster.

Same situation; I’m aware of the medium website but what are the benefits of posting there as well?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65777.74
ETH 2616.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68