Toads & Time Differences: Meditating in Mindful Life Discord

in #meditation5 years ago

As the afternoon and evening wore on in the UK and US, I was still asleep. I'd set my alarm for 5.30, leaving plenty of time to work out was happening in the Mindful Life Discord channel and help anyone out who might it. I actually woke up at 3 am when one of the standing stones in the front deck dislodged in the rain and slammed against the front deck, doing a quick meditation to calm my beating heart. I woke again at 5.15, got into the channel - and everyone was there, waiting. Poor old @digitaldan was locked out entirely and I was the only one who could fix it. Eek.


image.png

@bewithbreath calmly led us through a beautiful meditation, starting with focussing on things we can be grateful, shifting to anapana (focussing on the breath) and finishing with metta, a loving kindness meditation. After that, the mike opened up and everyone was welcome to come in and ask questions or to talk about their experience. It was lovely - most people felt so appreciative and loved the opportunity to sit in a shared energy, even though we were on other sides of the world, from Saskatchewan to Portugal to Australia to Great Britain to the US. As @vincentnijman observed, there was something a little surreal about it - how could it be that he was meditating in a tent in his sister's garden in Portugal at the same time as me in Victoria, Australia? But there was also something incredible about that too, just knowing that others were right with you, with the intention to help each other focus on breath and learn a thing or too about the process.

The cutest and funniest thing was @consciousangel crashing into the room just before metta. She'd accidentally left her mike, being a Discord newbie, and there was a loud song that just burst into the silence that made me rush for my phone to see what the hell it was. Poor Vincent was distracted by @bewithbreath's mike feedback and a toad outside his tent, and @porters wasn't in her usual meditation space so felt the distraction of the computer in front of her and the need to fix the problem. I found out later that @immarojas thought it was just a really long silence and nearly fell asleep - turned out that she had kicked herself out of the channel inadvertently. At one point in the discussion afterwards @bewithbreath disappeared entirely, prompting @vincentnijman to worry that Brexit had wiped the UK off the map, but @digitaldan chimed it to assure us he was still there in Northumberland, so it was all good. I had such a giggle that I've had a smile on my face all morning and am still half lmao as I write this.

image.png

We all agreed we'd get used to this new way of meditating! There's a great deal of power in the shared experience, and to set a habit too. I loved waking up to meditate, because I often leave it to the evening - @vincentnijman found it interesting to meditate at night, when he usually does it in the morning.

It was awesome to be able to chat about answers to questions too - what's the right way to sit in meditation? What do we do with these distractions? We're hoping that all of you feel comfortable enough to ask a question that's been bugging you in your home practice so we can all chew on the answer.

There's some kinks that I know now to sort out - to not let anyone have permission to mike until AFTER the meditation, to make sure that all member roles are given permission, and to teach @bewithbreath where that push to talk setting is. All this should get rid of most distractions, so we don't feel the need to fix or look at our screens for a solution - @porters, you can then turn your back on it completely!

I shifted a little bit of steem from my personal account over to Natural Medicine this morning so I could set up SBI payments to all attendees - like the breath, SBI just keeps on coming! I'm also delegating a little more because I just felt so aglow - it was moments like this, and an ability to serve the Steem community like this, that got me going with @naturalmedicine in the first place.

We're looking at doing a weekend session too and maybe alternating the Wednesday times week to week to suit the various time zones. We're also really open to any meditation teachers who might like to run a session one week - we learn a lot from different teachers and so many of you have good things to offer. I might even be tempted to overcome my shyness and run a meditation session too - but that might take more coercing.

Keen to join in the next meditation session? Join the @naturalmedicine Discord and find the Mindful Life chatroom for times. We'll be announcing more on Mindful Monday.



B2235A50C31CD126067343B513524EE62.gif

@naturalmedicine II Discord Invite II #naturalmedicine


Website | @homesteaderscoop | Discord Community

image.png


MindfulLife.gif
Discord 🧘About

image.png

Sort:  

Correction. The toad wasn't outside my tent. I heard a slow scraping sound inside my tent for quite and suddenly something bumped into the toes of my bare, right foot. I had to open my eyes and was slightly freaked out by a toad. A toad that had entered my tent on two earlier nights. This was one of several moments that got me out of the zone, haha!

I love your write up and humour. I couldn't describe this experience any better and am already looking forward to the next session.

P.S. What happened to you (earlier) that night/ morning sounds 10 times freakier than my toad experience.

Oh that's priceless. You absolutely shpuld tell that story!! So funny. It would have freaked me out too xx

Posted using Partiko Android

At least in brexit, there was a referendum.
Had muscle cramps on my lower legs..that was worst than havin the monkey mind @bewithbreath
Any advice pls?

Posted using Partiko Android

Hahha...😃😃😃
I think you inadverently left the meditation hall when we discussed about it. Vincent had similar issue with back I think.
At this stage if you find it difficult sitting on the floor crossed leg feel free to sit on the chair. Main thing we want is as little movement during meditation so we can focus on breath (or mind/ mental content/sensation at later stages). So sit how you would find most comfortable for long period of time. Hope it helps😊

Posted using Partiko iOS

It's usually my back bothering me, but this time I supported my back with a pillow and sat down on the floor, against the bed ( hence the toad, that entered my tent, was able to touch my toes and give me a scare

He ENTERED the tent!!!! Omg.

Posted using Partiko Android

Interesting, it's the monkey mind reacting to the legs that can be the issue haha. BUT.... make sure you sit up on pillows, as high as it need to be to feel comfy. You can even put them under your knees. Wiggle left and right on sit bones til you feel balanced. Relax the shoulders.

You can also sit on a cushion of pillows so you are kneeling. Or yes, in a chair.

Cramps do sound like a magnesium thing maybe??

Posted using Partiko Android

I really enjoyed joining in! Just in the first session I took away a few really great techniques to put into practice regularly. I didn't mind the interruptions as it can sometimes be a good way to laugh and remember life more often than not has its own plans no matter how much you prepare. Can't wait to jump in with you all again soon!

Posted using Partiko Android

We definitely had a great laugh!!! Can't wait to sit with you all Wednesday.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hear! hear! :>)

Glad I've passed security clearance for the next one 😅 it great to put voices to names and i picked up a lot of interesting tips/advice as a meditation noob. Looking forward to the next one 💚

Posted using Partiko Android

Ha yeah sorry lol.... there I was, blissfully asleep whilst you were waiting for the bouncer to let you in....

Posted using Partiko Android

This is a pretty cool idea. Would be weird doing it at a different time of day to what you're used to.

Yes, I need to learn that push to talk😄. Managed to find it and have tried it out with @digitaldan - Thanks Dan 🙏🏼. In next one we will do the audio one which seem to sound good when we tried today with @digitaldan 🧘🏼‍♂️🧘🏼‍♀️

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks @digitaldan... love you xxxxx

Posted using Partiko Android

You guys are AWESOME...totally getting stuff done!!

Posted using Partiko Android

@riverflows I missed a lot 😞 Chaos turned in to peace. It's a perfect start. I think we need to find a way to record these. I am probably too forward thinking on this. I would be great for someone starting out to have a trail to follow. I am glad it went well.

I know how to record them, I can try to do it next week maybe... we will see. There's something nice about letting the impermanence of that experience be... xxx Perhaps though!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

There definitely is. I think that is part of what makes things resonate more. Just like listening to the recording will not be anything like actually being a part of the experience.

If all goes well ( not that that's needed in meditation ) this real time easily trumps any recorded meditation session :>)

I agree ..

Posted using Partiko Android

How fantastic - world group mindfulness and meditation. I love the oneness and the connectedness that is rapidly taking place.

It's BEAUTIFUL isn't it??? I love Steemians so much. Wouldn't have met all these great folk without it!!

Posted using Partiko Android

The irony is, of course, that the cosmic and global connection is always THERE, every time you meditate, with every other person meditating. That you don't know their names is a small detail which just helps take ego out of the equation. ;)

I like that thought.

I actully asked @bewithbreath for his name, today, while testing audio settings for the next session. I did it because he called me by my name 'Vincent'. I will keep it a secret though ( for me and my Ego to feed on ), haha

Um wow. I really need to join in on this! I have been trying to pick up meditation more again. I just did a holotrophic breathing session that actually sent me into a state of reliving trauma I’m still mending from.. maybe it’s something we could talk on discord about. Thanks for hosting this. I know I’ve been out of the loop lately!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22