Exchange on Meditation technics.

in #meditation7 years ago

Hi Steemit Family , here to share my thoughts on meditation. I really take my hat of to those that sit and just meditate quitely. If i did that , in 5 min my mind would be thinking about what i needed to do next . So I realised that I am an active meditator ( if there is such a word) If I sit to quite my mind , have to listen to some kind of mantra or soothing music . so instead of thinking of all the things I should do , I simply take deep breathes ( Pranayama - deep breathing) and listen to Meditative Mind -Meditative Music on youtube , so soothing that it connects with my soul .

I have came to realise that I need music to connect . Would love to hear from your experiences on this. Everyone is different when it comes to meditation .

Hear from you soon .

Rani :))

Sort:  

Hi Rani, It sounds as though you are having a common experience with running thoughts during meditation. It doesn't matter if you're a beginner, a novice or an expert, thoughts will always be present during your sessions. Many masters say that a session full of running thought is a good one because you're releasing a lot of stress in the form of thought energy. So, thoughts are okay in meditation.

You can't stop thinking by thinking about it. It's the nature of the mind to think just as it for the eyes to see, and when we sit down and close our eyes it can sometimes become more obvious just how active the mind is. Many have a misconception that if you don't hit some sort of thoughtless zone during your session you have failed or you simply can't meditate. People have upwords of 60,000 thoughts a day, that's one every 1-2 seconds, so to think we can completely stop our thoughts is unrealistc. Meditation allows us to become more aware of our suble levels of thought and impulses allowing us to experience the silence and stability that underlies all thought. During these instances our thoughts may even stop for a moment or two. Increasing your awareness of how much the mind is actually moving over and over again bringing your attention back to the focus of your meditation in a kind patient manner and it doesn't matter how many times we need to do this during a session, this is the training. As we continually return to the focus at hand eventually our mind and nervous system will start to settle and we may even experience that meditators high, so don't quit before the bliss :) Practicing this way trains the reactivity center of the brain and aides in our ability to be more responsive rather than reactive throughout our daily life.

I am a certified meditation instructor so if you have any more questions feel free to ask. I also post many helpful tips on my page. Wishing you well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56934.21
ETH 3091.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38