Meditation - Are You Doing It Right?

in #meditation7 years ago

Meditation can have many many positive affects and one thing I see often is "am I doing it right"? That in itself can be a marker that maybe you need to not be so focused if you are doing it right, but does it feel right to you.

meditation beach.jpeg

Since everyone is different, there is no definitive "right way" to meditate. For example, some people like to use guided meditations, others like silence, or ohms. For me personally, I prefer light music. Maybe some binaural beats at 432hz or sounds of nature like rain, thunder storms etc.. It all depends on my mind state going in. Maybe I just want to listen to a waterfall or slow stream from a creek, it all works!

When I meditate I like to be in a sitting position. With the right music, for me its pretty simple to kind of "clear my mind". However, in the beginning when I first started it did take some practice with my breathing. When you first start, concentrate on your breathing. That also help clearing your mind of the stresses that prompted you to meditate in the first place.

So next time you meditate and you ask yourself, "am I doing this right" ask yourself again, am I comfortable, am I at peace right now, do I feel good? You will soon see that you will be answering your own questions. And always remember, what works for one, may not work for another. Don't give up and keep at it! After time it becomes routine like any other activity in your life. The key is to make that time for you and stick to it, even if its for 10 minutes per day.

For some of the music and sounds I listen to can be found over at DTube. We will be having weekly new playlists ranging from nature sounds all the way to binarauls as well as some soothing playlist good for work, sleep, studying, or just chilling out after a long day.

Have a suggestion? Let us know in the comments and up-vote, re-steem, and follow if you enjoy. :)

Sort:  

When I started meditating my habit of buying into perfectionism kept me frozen at the point of worrying about meditating correctly. Eventually with enough reminders like your own I was able to find deeper relaxation. Thanks for your post! Check out my blog and followed list for some meditation resources that may be useful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62249.58
ETH 2435.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67