And We'll All Float On

in #meditation6 years ago

IMG_20180222_203842.jpg
Pre-Float

A Little Peace and Quiet

Last night I had my first float in a while, and came out feeling great. There's something about doing a float that just makes me feel better, if I had the time I'd try to get in there more often. Maybe it's the pitch dark tank, the salts, or the absolute quiet. Maybe it just gives me permission to let go of my thoughts and explore the present moment. Either way, I come out with a clearer mind.

Floating 101

Floating is a new health tool that's become popular in recent years. Basically the tank is filled with water and epsom salts, enough to keep you floating effortlessly. The room is unlit, you've got earplugs to block out sounds, the only thing that can bother you is you, whether it's wandering thoughts or discomfort in the body. Both of these will probably be challenges for the new floater, it's sensory deprivation, but your still stuck in there with yourself. That salt burns too, so watch the eyes if you try it out.

Pre-Float

Before the float I read some Rupert Spira, The Transparency of Things and about two pages of Eckhart Tolle's The Power of Now while I was waiting for the tank to open up. I used these books to get me in a good mindset and give me something to apply in the tank. Eckhart Tolle was actually really good, I have never read his books even though I own one. Might have to check them out.

IMG_20180223_075949.jpg
During the float

I tried to eat early enough that it wouldn't bother me, but still had a bit of a stomach ache for some reason. I think fasting for a few hours is the best bet before going in. After a good seal on my moldable earplugs and a quick shower I popped in.

Float

I start the float leaving the generic meditation music on. I like the way it vibrates the water, it's kind of like a massage. I was working out some of the kinks in my back and legs using some "bed" stretching, but after that I settled into some nice meditation. My mind was trying to run a little, and I definitely lost being presence one or two times, but always came back to my breath and feeling.

Post Float

The lights come on in the tank at the end of the time limit, it's slightly disorienting. I showered off the salt, threw my clothes on and grabbed a glass of water. The float shop I use is pretty awesome, they have Onnit supplements and tea and a few other things for post-float. I snagged some supplements, downed them with some water, and threw on some CBD salve on my neck and enjoyed walking downtown to my truck. It was chilly but I tried to embrace it. This set me up for some great meditation later last night.


Have you guys tried floating? What do you think, do you find it beneficial and worthwhile?

Sort:  

Those always looked like tanning beds to me. Never tried this before - I'm guessing its an hourly rate? Sounds like a good place to unwind and meditate.

Ya typically hourly, test it out if you get a chance. Not for everyone, but definitely worth it to see!

That sounds like an amazing experience. I have never had the opportunity. Almost returning to the womb. Thanks for sharing it.

I like the way you divided up the post with headers. And the picture during the float. : )

So I saw this post promoting compliments: https://steemit.com/contest/@steemitbc/get-paid-to-compliment-someone-on-steemit-5

It reminded me that I have meant for awhile to thank you, @jakeybrown. You are a kind and wise voice to connect with and I value the experience you bring to your posts and comments. You're helpful and supportive of others (including me) and generous with your upvotes.

Thanks, @jakeybrown, for being here!

It does feel like being in a womb at times, really interesting.

Thanks for the kind words! I just write what I feel and try to share my perspective :) I like supporting and learning about the people around me too, most everyone is adding in their own way and I think that's really cool. Worth connecting with people and helping build community. It's the best way with my SP level, plus way more fun to really engage with people.

Thanks @kittycheese for the compliment :)

This is the first post on here I have seen about floating! I have only done it once and I absolutely loved it. One day I would like to make it a part of my regular self care regiment.

I truly think that if it was available to more people we would have a more relaxed healthy society. Maybe one day we can get them instaled in schools and find various ways to make it cheaper and more available to the general population because not only is it a great way to realax the body and mind but it helps with understanding oneself.

Thanks for the share and great conscious content.

One day I would like to make it a part of my regular self care regiment.

Same here! If I could do it once or twice a week that'd be amazing... Now just to find the time and money..

I really think these are only going to get bigger with time. people need to get away sometimes and have that solitude. In places like big cities thats just not very possible.

Thanks for the comment! Glad someone else has tested it out

Well man I have never try floating actually, but I think I would probably try something similar in order to see how it feels haha!

I know sometimes we really need to some time and put our brains in some sort of hibernation mode in order to recharge our energies :) . What I usually do is to simply relax in bed, but perhaps trying more sophisticated technique could be better.

Cheers mate!

If you get a chance test it out, bed is always nice too, bed stretching in the morning is amazing

I have never tried anything like this but it must be super-relaxing.

If you get a chance do it

Yooo I can't wait too try a float tank, been hearing Rogan talk about them for years

Find one man!

Which one? the black one? haha

I meant the first one, didn't even notice the black one. You took your phone in the chamber?

haha nope, it was just a joke

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66871.77
ETH 3512.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.14