Some Points on Meditation, Koans and Mindfulness

in #meditation4 years ago (edited)

A few things are occurrent and familiar to most all forms of meditation. Calmness of mind comes from two principals; paying attention and not thinking.

  • Open meditation is being aware of everything that is happening but not responding, which leads to “choice awareness”.

  • While closed concentrative meditation is directly focusing on one thing and not being “in the moment”. This type of meditation can bring beauty and awareness back into an object or concept that has otherwise grown dull.

When you are meditating or even just living everyday life, if a distraction comes up recognize that it has,.. and then return to the present moment.

A“Let it come, Let it be, Let it go.”

A few other important things about breathing need to be said. Try not to breathe, its difficult.

Meditation is peace; trying to calm chaos..

????

7ec70f447a1a49067069e4b8d3c8b48a.jpg

????

Mindfulness is used to be more present and conscious in every moment of experience, awake or asleep.

A koan is a Japanese a method to induce deep zen thinking and questioning. They don’t really have right answers, they are just meant to show that the person was able to see the nature of it.

Beautiful little thought flowers, such as “what is your own mind?” or “Who is asking this question?” ~ my favourite from this reading is “Stop the moving boat” or as I reframe it “is the river really flowing?”

Personally I meditate when I can. A non-formal form of meditation seems to be how I get myself to sleep. When I actively try to meditate, it is usually with the intention to open my subconscious, it is a method I use to way see, and answer troubling moods and questions I encounter.

Meditation, mindfulness, and presence in the moment to me is what defines consciousness, ~ Being there, Truly there?

this has made me realize and confirm (at least for myself) one of the things I’ve believed most my life;

...That all is mind. (mentalism) <3

????

Thanks for reading come stop by, follow or resteem if you enjoyed this little piece of thought.

https://steemit.com/@isthatart

psychedelic_peace_sign_stickers-p217582589258020992b2o35_400.jpg

Sort:  

These times are calling for breath

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66753.89
ETH 3256.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34