How Iife knocked me down

in #meditation7 years ago (edited)

images.jpg
I was on my way to work. I was studying economics at this time. But more for the student status then actually studying. I was already dreaming and working to become a poker player.

My stepmother has passed away 3 month ago. To this day it is not 100% certain what happened. Some think it was suicide, some think it was an accident. I am not sure and I stopped worring about it. My father found here in their bed and never recovered from it.

While I am waiting for my bus I see I got a lot of missed calls and I call back my aunt. She tells me that my father comitted suicide last night. I hang up and walk back home, feeling kind of numb and not sure what to do now. The first thing which comes to my mind is, I dont feel like working today and need to cancel, as I am talking to my boss and need to explain what happend it got real all of the suden and I started to tear up. I need to hang up and trying to catch myself.
After some minutes the numbness returns and I want to make a plan what I need to do but I have no idea.

My phone is ringing again and my fathers lawyer is on the linie, he says he is very sorry about the situation but I need to do some things now. My father was a dentist and I need to take care of his doctors office, also I need to call the local police to get some paperwork and pick up his personal things and the suicide note. Also I am not allowed to enter the house yet till they are 100% sure nobody else was involved in his death and there is nothing I can do today but there will be a lot of work soon.
I have thoughts what will happen with me now? How will I able to pay rent etc? Then I felt guilty because I am thinking about money now.

So I just got drunk.

In the following weeks and months brother and me organize the funeral and the inheritage. I took care of selling the doctors office and we are planning to sell the house.
In this time I moved into the house of my father to be close to the office and gave up my appartment in the town I have studied.

I get drunk more and more often and my drinking sessions get longer and longer. I am able to deal with all the inheritage shit but emotianly I dont want to deal with the fact that he left us.

In the months between the death of my stepmother and my father. I got way closer to him. I felt I have to look after him since he is obviously not doing so well but I am also getting exhausted and I dont have time to grief for myself. But looking back I think I did the best I could.
But for a long time I thought it was my fault, I didnt took enough care, I wasnt there enough.
And I felt kind of rejected by him, that he is rather in a place nobody knows exist then here.

As I see suicide now, it is just a passing of pain from yourself to the people who are close to you.

This happened about 5 years ago.

2 years I ve tried to medicate myself with alcohol, I stopped doing any sport, I am eating badly , I am depressed and hardly have any interests at all.

Very unhappy with life and blaming everyone and everything except myself for my situation I discovered meditation.

And I dove deep into it : reading a lot, trying all kinds of meditations especially for gratitude and forgivness and slowly things started to change.

I could get out of bed and I started to take care of myself again. I ve started to read a lot, especially about habits, since I ve developed so many bad ones in those years. Self improvment became very important to me.
I developed goals again and plans on how to pursuit them. I cared about the people around me again and I ve started to write a diary to get rid of returnig thoughts and think things really through.

Joy is returning into my life and it started with just sitting down for 10 minutes a day.

I am still on my journey and there are also bad days were I still get sad (actually this is one of those days but writting helps and this is why I want to share this with you), but I developed tools to help me back on my feet and the knowlege that this sadness is just passing through and is not my life, just a small part of it.

I try to see the positive in everything now and even with this shitty experience it brought out something good. I had the courage to follow my dream, learnt a valuable lesson, that blaming others or your circumstances gets you nowhere, you just give up power and your happiness.

If you made it till here thank you a lot for reading.

Sort:  

Dude the alcohol wwas no way to deal with your problems. It is a depressant and will make you depressed. You need to go back to those things you enjoy, some people say working out helps. I know you're doing better but just a tip

I am on that atm.

Living in thailand atm doing Yoga and BJJ.

Loving life for the most part but sometimes there comes the blues. But I feel I am on a good path

That is awesome. Stay on that track man and I look forward to reading more of your posts soon. If you want to talk, I would appreciate a follow too but no big deal if not.

That's horrible what happened to you. I understand the numb feeling you are talking about! It's the worst! It's amazing that you are positive about life now! It's alright to try different ways to cope with grief, as long as we are in control. I love your post! Upvoted and Followed!! :)

thx a lot.

Need to stay positive to make and positive impact

have you considered seeking god? http://www.lesfeldick.org

I ve talked to a pastor for a while. was not for me

Nice post! Thanks. Please follow me: @martinst

Upvoted as agreed.

Congratulations @flipstar! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70765.98
ETH 3797.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.46