You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Coffee Time Meditation #19 -- Sept. 19th

As I read your post tonight, in my mind I could hear Harry Chapin singing "Flowers Are Red."

Like you I was an imaginative child who was "discouraged" from living in a world of "make-believe" -- which was exciting and richly populated, I promise you. It didn't completely break me of the habit. I just stopped letting other people have any clue what was ever going on with me -- in my imagination.

As an adult I've spent a lot of time getting back into the skin of that imaginative child -- and seeing the world again through her eyes. But the reclusiveness and introversion remain.

I, too, cheer your niece's self-confidence and bravery -- and hope she hangs onto those qualities all her life, because "there are so many colors in the rainbow / so many colors in the morning sun / so many colors in the flowers / and I see every one." Good for her.

from #theunmentionables

Sort:  

My deciding to take writing more seriously is gradually getting me back into my imagination and visualizing mode.

I drew my niece's attention to my meditation and she laughed at the memory of that day. She adored her grandmother but didn't let her influence her worldview. She has grown into a strong, independent young lady who still has a very creative streak.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66683.89
ETH 3311.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70