Float Tanks/Meditation and How it Changed My LifesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #meditation7 years ago (edited)

So I just got done with my monthly float session and feel absolutely wonderful. So wonderful in fact that I felt I needed to share what floating is and how it has completely changed my life. Below I will explain what floating is, how it has benefit me, my experience with floating, and where I float? I hope you enjoy.

For starters what are float tanks? An isolation tank, originally called a sensory deprivation tank (also known as float tank, flotation tank or sensory attenuation tank) is a lightless, soundproof tank with high epsom salt (magnesium sulphate) content filled with salt water at skin temperature, in which individuals float.

For the longest time I tried to meditate and each and every time for whatever reason I could not focus my mind enough to make it what I wanted; what I though meditated should be. Put I was persistent because it was something I wanted. It was something that if I knew I could get figured out it would change my life forever. I knew deep down that it was one of the keys I was to unlock for me to be successful or at least what I envision as success, as that's different for everyone. So I looked into float tanks to see if that would help me along my path. And boy has it ever.

Once you get past the fact that you are shutting yourself in a closed lightless, soundless box, with your ears plugged as well it morphs into the most wonderful experience one could hope for. For that is the whole purpose of a float tank. It is to take away all senses that we has humans experience. It is trying to break you down to your absolute core. The temperature of the water and air in the tank is the exact same temperature as the human body. Its design is so that you can't tell where the air, water, and body start and stop creating a oneness.

There are also several health benefits to floating. I am no doctor but I can tell you after even the first time float be feel an mediate difference mentally, physically, and spiritually. Just a few things I have noticed for myself is relief from back and neck pain, asthma, and arthritis. On top of being a huge stress reliever, and for those that suffer from depression or PTSD it helps with that as well. It has help friends of mine with asthma and migraines so on and so on.

A fellow Steemerian @loganwaldenart has a painting that pretty much sums the experience up way better then I ever could. And I hope hes doesn't mind that I used his painting, if so please contact me and I will remove it but honestly its fantastic. Please go follow him.

@loganwaldenart Painting

Sorry, had to get that in there because my first experience with floating that is the exact thing I felt. For someone that had trouble meditating at home I had it. It was like meditating is space. Nothing exists but you, and honestly if you in the flow or the zone you don't even feel your body anymore. You are just there, the natural energy that you are. Some individuals hallucinate at times. Its your mind showing you deep down what it is needed to be seen. Who knows what these images are or where they come from. For all we know they are the future, or a past self. Dreams or reality who are we to judge, no one really knows and if they tell you have have 100% proof and know they are simply lying.

The float experience in a nutshell is it takes you back to your most natural sense and just lets you experience nothing. The silence and the stillness of nothing. Go into it expecting nothing because honestly that's what it truly is. Our lives are so lost in the every day hustle and bustle of everything that no one takes the time to step back and just experience themselves for even a brief moment. Go in feeling stressed, tense, irritated, and rushed. Come out feeling, rejuvenated, calm, stress free and ready to take on the world, with a new perspective on everything. Its like a butterfly leaving its cocoon.

An now to where I float and some of the amazing art they have around the shop. I float at Fadeaway Floatation Center. It's a great environment that always feels amazing just from opening the door. It just feels calming and soothing to be in there. Its always very clean and smells of soft lavender. Very quiet and the most friendly people.

This painting really made me stop and think the first time I saw it. I looked at it for a very long time after my first float and it made we think to myself "what are we really?"

There she is, my spaceship to a higher place. Between this tank and my mind I believe a can do anything. And once inside you can go and do anything you want. It simply is the limitations of your mind. What is it you are going to allow yourself to let loose on. If you needed anything to make you feel more comfortable they also provide.

All in all floating and meditation has been a huge life changing experience for me. It has helped me in countless ways mentally, physically, emotionally, and spiritually and I encourage you to try it for yourself. All else fails it isn't for you. Thank you very much for reading, it means a lot. Steem on.

Sort:  

wow this is great - thanks for sharing. There are many ways to become meditative and this looks like an interesting one.
Following

Thanks, I am glad you liked it. It really has done a lot to help me in every day life. Thanks for the follow.

Thanks, I enjoyed the read. Which of your posts do you recommend for a newbie to start his own journey?

Thanks, I would hope that you read them all. At least all that interest you, as they all have something different. But of mine Passion, or Creating your own Reality. Thanks again for the interest.

Congratulations @dreamwalkerd! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thanks for sharing, vote :)

Thank you for sharing this love the pictures! I've been wanting to try these isolation tanks for a while, thanks for reminding me :-)

No problem, it was a life changing experience for me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63119.91
ETH 2695.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56